Cherry Almond Granola

If you’ve never made granola at home before, the time has come. It’s just so easy and so much better than what you can get at the store (for a reasonable price at least). Furthermore, when you make it at home, you have the freedom to put whatever you want in it, and that changes all the time for me. Sometimes I want almonds, sometimes I want pecans, and sometimes I want dried cherries, and sometimes I want raisins.  Oh, and just a quick note, this is a loose granola.  If you want the clumped kind, you need to add a lot more honey.  Here’s how to make granola:

Yield: a sheet tray of granola, serves 6-8

Ingredients:
3 cups rolled oats
1.5 cups sliced almonds
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup wheat germ
1 cup shredded sweetened coconut
1/4 cup brown sugar + 2 tbsp
1/4 cup maple syrup (the real stuff, please)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 tbsp honey
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup dried cherries

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 250 degrees F.

In a very large bowl, combine the oats, almonds, sunflower seeds, wheat germ, coconut, and brown sugar.

In a separate bowl, whisk to combine the maple syrup, vegetable oil, honey, and salt.

Pour this liquid all over the oat mixture, and toss to coat evenly.

Spread the granola out onto a sheet pan and bake for 1 hour, stirring the mixture ever 15 minutes for even browning.  Stir in the dried cherries once it’s done baking, and store in an airtight container when it’s cool. Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

Because I’m curious, what are you favorite ingredients in a granola???

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cherry Almond Granola

  1. I recently made a granola I think of as New England Granola because it features walnuts (walnut oil as the oil), maple syrup, and dried cranberries. Also sunflower seeds and unsweetened coconut chips, which taste lovely after toasting in the oven.

  2. I love how you specify the real stuff! Very cool recipe.

  3. I have never made my own granola. One of these days I am going to have to give in and make my own!

  4. I’ve never made my own, but lots of people seem to. Perhaps I should. This one appeals to me the most so far – I adore cherries.

  5. Kim Bee says:

    I love making my own. I like mine in big chunks so I can eat it like popcorn. Lol! Love this blending of cherry and almond. Super tasty!

  6. Ann says:

    Love the combination of cherry and almonds! This is just stunning! I think my favorite combo is some kind of nut and some kind of fruit in it. I know that’s vague, but I don’t want one or the other…

  7. anne says:

    I love that combination ! I have some quaker oats granola bars 😛 😀 but not as good as your homemade one *sigh* 🙂 Maple syrup , the real stuff please?! 😉 🙂 Hah! I think you’re going to have a heart attack when you see some of the price of that stuff here ackkkk

  8. Bring on the yogurt….love granola with the “REAL STUFF”.

  9. great granola recipe…thanks for sharing

  10. I love to make granola – and your recipe looks wonderful! I love cherries in it, too!

  11. I just made yogurt on my blog. 🙂 I will have to try your variety! It sounds (and looks) delicious.

  12. **granola, not yogurt! You can tell what I was thinking about, ha!

  13. Anonymous says:

    I haven’t made granola before. I like to add it to yoghurt topped with blueberries.

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

