Green Spaghetti

As simple as this dish may seem, I always find that I can’t stop eating it.  Before I go on, let me note that this dish is spicy as all get out, but if you like chiles, you’ll be a fan of this dish.  Yes, it’s spicy, but the flavor packs a punch between the chiles, garlic, and herbs.  I was introduced to this dish by my friend Sara, who says green spaghetti is a very common dish in south Texas.  Her rendition is a bit different from mine, but we always use what we’ve got on hand, right?  Here’s how to make my version:
Serves 4-6

Ingredients:
2 poblano peppers
4 serrano chiles
4 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
3 oz cream cheese
1 bunch parsley (or cilantro)
1/4 cup chicken stock
salt and pepper

Directions:
If you have a gas stove, place the poblanos and serranos directly over the flame until blackened on all sides.  If you don’t have a gas stove, place them on a sheet tray under the broiler, turning for even blackening (this should only take about 5 minutes).
Place the blackened chiles in a bowl and cover the bowl tightly with plastic wrap.  Let sit for 5 minutes.

Place the garlic, cream cheese, and chicken stock in a blender, and blend until smooth.  Peel the blackened skin off the chiles, and remove the seeds and stems. Add the rest to the blender, and run the blender until well pureed.  Add the parsley or cilantro, blend, then season to taste with salt and pepper.

Cook the pasta until al dente, and reserve a small cup of the pasta water when draining the noodles.  Toss the noodles with the blended sauce, and if it’s too thick, thin it out with a little pasta water.  Serve and enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Pasta/Starches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Green Spaghetti

  1. So vibrant and inviting.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. anne says:

    Looks really appetizing ! I’ll definitely cook this and will let you know 😉

  3. I have never seen anything like this — thanks. It would be good with a little lime juice and zest in it if you use cilantro.

  4. Simple, yes, boring no. Looks just awesome.

  5. I didn’t expect the recipe to be that – I’m pleasantly surprised, it looks absolutely wonderful 😀 I love simple spaghetti dishes so much.

  6. Kiki says:

    I just had dinner a moment before I read this post, but those spaghetti look incredibly delicious, and I love hot stuff – makes me want to have at least a forkful!

  7. Love the idea of combining roasted peppers with pasta. Good stuff!

  8. I am sure it packs a punch. I would have to go light on the heat…imagine I am allegic to too much and tend to start choking…what a drag. Looks so good though…

  9. Erin says:

    I have never heard of green spaghetti before. We love things spicy here! I think hubby would love this.

  10. How beautiful! I will ask. My green grocer. If he can get these poblano peppers, this looks exactly like the kind of pasta I love to eat. Awesome recipe!

  11. Sheryl says:

    That looks delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe! 🙂

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    Something unique, at first sight I thought it was pesto but it wasn’t. I love this specially its spicy aspect.

  13. magicofspice says:

    This looks so good and the color is fantastic!

  14. I love the idea of that, but it is WAY too spicy for my blood! Even half of those chilies would be too many for me I think!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

