Stuffed Mushroom Caps

I don’t understand stuffed mushroom caps at all.  You see, I like mushrooms, but do I go wild when I eat a baby bella?  No. But stuff that baby with this stuff and it is one of the tastiest things on earth.   The transformation boggles my mind. But I know I’m not alone, because mushroom caps always seem to be the first thing to go at a party.  Here’s how I like to do mine:
Yield: Serves 2.  Easily doubles, triples, quadruples.

Ingredients:
8 oz package baby bella mushrooms
3 tbsp chopped parsley
1 tsp chopped tarragon
3 scallions, finely minced
1/4 cup grated parmigiano reggiano
1/8 cup grated asiago cheese
1 egg
1/4 cup italian bread crumbs
4 oz cream cheese, softened
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
2 cloves garlic, minced
olive oil for brushing

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Carefully remove the stems from the mushrooms, and chop them up finely either by hand or in a food processor.  Zap them in the microwave or cook them in a pan on the stovetop until you have gotten rid of the excess moisture.  Place the stems in a bowl, and add the parsley, tarragon, scallions, parmigiano reggiano, asiago, egg, bread crumbs, cream cheese, cayenne pepper, and garlic.  Mix until it forms a smooth mixture, and season to taste.
Brush each mushroom cap with olive oil, and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Lay them on a sheet pan, and fill them generously with a spoonful of filling.

Bake for 15 minutes, until the stuffing has browned.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Appetizer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Stuffed Mushroom Caps

  1. Absolutely delicious – this would be a perfect meal for me – dinner for one.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Suzi says:

    These look and sound fantastic. Love the tarragon in there too. Great photos, yummy

  3. my friend has been bugging me about making stuffed mushrooms for our girls weekend – im using this recipe!

  4. These are beautiful – and my husband would love them! Thank you!

  5. There is nothing better than a stuffed mushroom cap:) I want one NOW!!! Thanks for sharing.

  6. These look great. We normally do ours in similar fashion. (The ones we posted were an invention to use up leftovers.) I love that you use tarragon. And you’re right, cook these babies and the flavors are just awesome.

  7. These look so delicious! I am bookmarking these for the next time I entertain. Thanks!

  8. These stuffed mushroom caps look so cute and delicious. I can definitely see myself making this as a party appetizer. I love this

  9. Meg says:

    Oooh, I love stuffed mushroom caps! They’re just the thing I never think to make for myself, too. But that’s my go-to appetizer when I’m out with my boyfriend, the only other mushroom lover I know!

  10. I love mushrooms, and I love to make them for parties. My husband doesn’t like them, so I only get them when other people come over 🙂 Yours looks wonderful!

  11. jo-lyn says:

    ohmygosh, these look so good!! nom nom nom…

  12. Erin Renee says:

    I made these for my dinner tonight. And I ate them all. I am not ashamed. They were magnificent.

  13. anne says:

    I love mushrooms ! & yours looks absolutely mouth watering ! Gorgeous photos , too 😉

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    This would be a really great food for entertaining, a bottle of wine or beer would be the best pair

  15. If only my husband loved mushrooms…well I guess this means more for me! ha!

  16. We love mushrooms around here and I 100% approve of the use of asiago cheese in this recipe. 😉

  17. Pingback: Stuffed Mushroom Caps « A Poet in the Kitchen

  18. These look incredible. I love, love stuffed mushroom caps but the bf hates mushroom so I never make them. I may just have to make these and eat THEM ALL!!

    • Joanne Ozug says:

      hehe, there is actually bacon in the batch pictured but I decided to leave it out of the ingredients because I didn’t think it added that much. But I do love bacon! I want to try making some praline bacon sometime soon.

  19. I loved them too. Yours look great. I usually have these ugly brown things that I am ashamed to photograph, but taste so good.

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

