Chicken Pot Pie

My older brother called me the other day, and after I told him I was making a chicken pot pie, the immediate response was a rant: “You’d better be doing a crust on the bottom too!  I hate it when it’s only on the top.  I mean, my favorite part is eating all the filling, then you get to the bottom crust which has soaked up all of the delicious flavors of the chickeny goodness.”  You know, he makes a good point, doesn’t he?  The crust on the bottom is a treat, and soaks up all the flavor of the filling.  I made a lattice top for this particular batch, but I like to do the traditional completely covered top as well, so do whichever one you’re feeling.  Here’s how to do it:


Yield: 6 individual ramekin portions or 1 big 8-inch souffle dish.  Serves 6.

Ingredients:
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 cups chopped yellow onion
1 cup chopped carrot
1 cup chopped celery
1 cup chopped potato
3 sage leaves
5 sprigs thyme
1 rosemary stem
1 cup frozen peas, thawed
1.5 lbs boneless skinless chicken breast, cooked and diced
1 quart chicken stock (not broth)
6 tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 cup flour
salt and pepper
1/4 cup heavy cream
2 prepared pie crusts

Directions:
Heat up the olive oil over medium heat in a large pot.  Add the chopped onion, carrot, celery, potato, sage, thyme, and rosemary.  Saute until soft, about 30 minutes.

Add the peas and diced chicken to the pot.

Heat up the chicken stock in a saucepan until it’s at a slight boil. Keep it warm with a lid.

Add the butter to the softened vegetables, and let it melt completely.  Add the flour and stir to distribute, then add the hot chicken stock while whisking. Bring the mixture up to a simmer, and let it bubble for a minute or two until it has thickened.  Season with salt and pepper, and add the heavy cream.
Lay the bottom pie crust into your baking dish, and spoon all of the chicken vegetable mixture into your crust.  If you fully cover the top, cut a few slits in the dough so the steam can escape.  Otherwise, cut the dough into strips and weave them into a lattice:

Bake the smaller ramekins for 45 minutes, and if you’re doing the full pot pie, you may need to bake for an hour.  Whenever the pie crust is golden brown, it’s ready.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Chicken and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Chicken Pot Pie

  1. Jaqie says:

    Looks so beautiful and delicious!! I like that comfort food can be pretty,too lol

  2. So pretty! Pure comfort food! Your brother is a smart man 🙂

  3. Those look awesome. I never tire of pot pies.

  4. I made homemade pot pies for Christmas Eve Dinner and were a big hit. Your pot pie looks a lot prettier than mine did:) Thanks for sharing!

  5. Anna says:

    Cold and flu season calls for recipes like this. Thanks for sharing! Great photo, btw!

  6. Those look absolutely wonderful. I’ve always adored the latticed effect. I agree with your brother – The pastry at the bottom is often the best!

  7. Just the thing for a winter day (or night). Classic — and classy in your rendition.

  8. rsmacaalay says:

    What a very well presented chicken pot pie! I love the work you’ve done on that pastry, I am not sure if I have the patience to do them as usually I just place a flat piece on top

  9. Nydia says:

    Each time I read “pie” I only can imagine something sweet, you know, when I learned English pie always was associated to apple pie. I know, it can be savory…I just need time …

  10. Suzi says:

    Look at that lattice crust. Beautiful!

  11. Your crust is gorgeous, wow! I’m just finishing a batch of chicken broth…and I have another whole chicken in the fridge…this looks like the perfect use for it!

  12. Ann says:

    That looks delicious! The crust is stunning! I have to say – I’ve never had one that has a crust on the bottom! ….and now I want one!

  13. anne says:

    The lattice crust looks gorgeous , it’s perfectly baked , too ! The creamy filling looks absolutely mouth watering , yummmmm 😀

  14. Loveforfood says:

    This sounds like the perfect dinner.

  15. I am not a huge chicken pot pie fan.. never have been. But there is something about yours that makes me want to actually try it and I believe I will love it. Very nice

  16. Aah, the comfort of a homemade pie – love your lattice work with the pastry and I agree, pastry at the bottom too is the best.
    🙂 Mandy

  17. jo-lyn says:

    So pretty! I wouldn’t want to eat it! 😉

  18. So adorable and yummy. With the chill in the air this is the perfect dish.

  19. Andrew says:

    Yes, as I say, there must be a crust going along the sides and at the bottom! Otherwise it’s a devious trick getting to the end and there’s no pot of gold(crust)!

  20. mjskit says:

    What a cute little chicken pot pie! I love the lattice crust and your filling. Yummy recipe!

  21. I am with your brother. I remember my first chicken pot pie and I ate it in Venezuela.

  22. Yum! Your brother is right but I’ve never put crust on the bottom… might try next time!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

