Fifteen Spatulas Travels: New Orleans

I get pretty excited to go anywhere if it means leaving town, but I was particularly excited about visiting New Orleans because I have always heard it is one of the top destinations for people who love food.  Fifteen Spatulas can now confirm that statement as true.  From alligator sausage gumbo to sweet potato pralines to shrimp po’boys to John Besh restaurant eats, I was thrilled day after day by all the spice and flavor that defines Creole and Cajun cooking.

Homemade Alligator Sausage & Roast Turkey Gumbo, with Bottled Barq's

If I wrote about every place I ate at this post would be way too long (and at many of these places it was inappropriate to take photos), but here are some tidbits:

Restaurants I ate at:

  • Rue 127.  Unexpectedly one of the best places I dined at.  Got to try puppy drum fish, and it is now one of my favorites.
  • GW Fins .  Get the lobster dumplings!
  • Restaurant August (John Besh restaurant).  Everything I ate here was pretty outstanding.  Get the 3 course lunch for $20…it’s a total steal.
  • Domenica is another John Besh restaurant with gourmet pizzas.  It was my least favorite meal.
  • Elizabeth’s Restaurant.  All I have to say is duck waffle…sweet potato and duck hash over cornmeal waffle with hot pepper jelly.  YUM.
  • Commander’s Palace.  A quintessential new Orleans eatery.  The most expensive meal of the trip, but also one of the best.  Get the turtle soup and bread pudding souffle.
  • Coulis.  I will be recreating one of their dishes, Eggs Benecio.  Poached eggs with hollandaise over jalapeño cornbread cakes.  SO GOOD!

Other eats:

Cafe du Monde Beignet: Not just a vehicle for delivering inappropriate amounts of powdered sugar

  • Cafe du Monde.  This is one of the most hyped food places in New Orleans, and the first time I tried it, I thought it wasn’t worth the 30 minute wait.  But then I found myself going back again the next day.  The beignets are fantastic.
  • Southern Candymakers.  If you’ve ever been to a touristy city in the South, odds are you’ve come across a praline shop…and noticed they charge $20/lb.  I rarely pay this price because I can make pralines at home, but I had to try their award winning creamy praline and the sweet potato praline as well.  Both were crazy good.
  • Parkway Bakery & Tavern.  This is another place I went to twice, and got the same thing each time: alligator sausage & roast turkey gumbo (pictured above) and the shrimp po’boy.  There are photos at the restaurant of Obama eating there, so it’s not a secret that this place has great food.
  • Casamento’s. If you like oysters, go here, and get the Oyster Loaf.  Be prepared to wait in line though.
  • Angelo Brocato’s Gelato-This place has rave reviews but I was disappointed.  The gelato was good, but the baked alaska was dreadful and the pignolotti I purchased got left behind on the table.
  • Creole Creamery. This place has some outstanding ice cream.  They’ve got unusual flavors, and the texture is somewhere between ice cream and gelato.  I recommend the malted buttermilk flavor.

Alright, I can’t remember, but I’m pretty sure those are the places I ate at.  My goodness…I was only there for 6 days…how did I eat so much?!  In summary, New Orleans is the place for hungry people.  Even the animals at the zoo had New Orleans worthy appetites:

Orangutang demanding food from the zookeeper

And one last thing, if you happen to stumble upon local Roman Candy while you’re in New Orleans, definitely get some…unless you have fillings that you are afraid will fall out (this is the stickiest thing I have ever eaten):

See you tomorrow for a recipe!

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Fifteen Spatulas Travels: New Orleans

  1. Looks brilliant! What was your favourite thing about New Orleans, except for the food? Also, was it an expensive destination?

    • Joanne Ozug says:

      Hm, it can easily be an expensive destination, but it doesn’t have to be. We drove to New Orleans so we had a car and were able to stay somewhere that isn’t the French Quarter (very expensive rates for hotels), so we saved some money there. There were TONS of activities to do. Walking around the french quarter and up and down bourbon street is free and fun, but we also enjoyed the museums the city had. The WWII museum was fantastic, and we also did the Museum of Art, the Zoo, the Aquarium (there’s also an insectarium which is supposed to be pretty good), City Park, and we walked along the River, and in the garden district (nice houses and architecture). We also walked around Frenchman street at night, which has tons of places with live music, and they are often free. It’s a great place to go, lots of food and lots to do!

  2. Nydia says:

    What a great trip. I never was in New Orleans but is one of the cities I really want to go. I always heard food is very good there, and now you confirmed it.

  3. I will keep you lists here for my next visit. While I was there before, I did miss some of the awesome places you mentioned! You are correct in that there is a lot to do, way more than just the Bourbon Street thing that comes to most peoples mind. Thanks for sharing your adventure in NOLA!

  4. Looks like you had a great time. I’ve heard good things about GW Fins too. You are so on the money about Commanders and I love your shot of Jackson Square.

  5. InCucinaDaME says:

    I’d love to go to New Orleans but must get some food with no fish/seafood etc.

  6. Suzi says:

    Lucky you! I haven’t been ther YET. What a wonderful foodie adventure you had. Cheers.

  7. Sounds like you had a really good time! The photo at the top is really strange. I mean, it’s a good photo but the architecture seems all wrong. It’s like a British, French, Greek, Italian Mash-up combined with a little 16th century evangelical church… I chuckled a little bit 😀

  8. Love your photos – thanks for sharing!

  9. Laurie says:

    You certainly made your six days well worth it. Every place is great. Did you have the praline bacon at Elizabeth’s? Glad you had a great time.

  10. YUM!!! Looks so delicious. I looove cafe du monde 🙂

  11. I haven’t been to New Orleans yet. I always wondered after the flooding… if it had changed? It looks like a paradise for anyone who loves to eat. Homemade alligator sausage… I might be too chicken to try that, what did it taste like??

    • Joanne Ozug says:

      The roads are kind of terrible (lots of potholes) but other than that, there aren’t really many signs of damage from the flooding…it all seems to be repaired. If I didn’t know it was alligator sausage, I wouldn’t have thought anything of it! Just tastes like a normal sausage. I’ve eaten alligator before…and I know this is so cliché but it tastes like chicken LOL. A bit chewier though.

  12. Looks like an amazing food trip!! I need to go back someday, I think I was under 10 last time I went.

  13. Sounds like you had a wonderful time! I’ve never been, but always thought it would be interesting!

  14. magicofspice says:

    You covered all of that in 6 days…you are my hero! What a fantastic sounding, and looking trip!

  15. Thanks for letting me ride along on your trip to New Orleans. Holy Cow!!!! 20 a pound for pralines. I am sure you can whip up something better in 15 spatulas kitchen. Take care, BAM

  16. Ann says:

    Wow – it looks like you had a GREAT time! Was that candy salt-water taffy? Your pictures are stunning – as always!

  17. Your trip sounds like so much fun. I just love this. And if I saw a store named “Creole Creamery”.. yeah, I know I would love it lol

  18. alyssa says:

    NO is by far one of my favorite cities! When my husband and I went the only thing we did was eat and drink. I don’t remember the name of any of the places we went because they were all small hole in the wall types, but the food at each was outstanding. Aww, you make me want to book a trip back to the states for some real beignets!!!

  19. Jenn says:

    Probably my most favorite city ever! I got engaged there! Next time you have to try Boucherie. One of our family members is a chef there! Have you been to the Alpine? It’s hard to go wrong! Thanks for sharing!

  20. I’ve been to new Orleans twice, but unfortunately both visits were prior to becoming a foodie so I feel like missed out on so much. Great sounding trip! I’m jealous. 🙂

  21. Malted buttermilk ice cream — now you’re talking!

  22. I have a long overdue visit to New Orleans… it’s been almost four years! Thanks for the great recap.

  23. mjskit says:

    Looks like you had a great eating tour of New Orleans! It’s hard to go wrong no matter where you eat there. We certainly go there for the food and the music and then I get the extra benefit of being in a place where I can people watch. 🙂

  24. Did you gain weight…LOL…I will keep this post for future refence…the husband and I plan to go, but on the 21st we go to Sint Marteen…Whishing you a very Happy and healthy New Year.

  25. Thanks for dining with us and thanks for the shoutout in your post! We’re so glad you enjoyed the lobster dumplings.

  26. Pingback: Red Neck Eggs Benedict |

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

