Homemade Phyllo Cups


You don’t need to tell me, I can hear it already, “Oh boy, here goes Joanne with her cups again” hahahaha.  What can I say, I’m a big fan of making various bite sized munches in muffin tins.  I love phyllo cups because they are very easy to make, and you can put virtually anything in them.  Here I decided to do a chicken salad with goat cheese, scallions, shaved fennel, and dried cherries, but you could also do the cranberry pesto chicken I did last week.  The key to making phyllo cups is to be liberal with the butter, otherwise the phyllo will be dry and pasty.  Here’s how to do it:

Yield: 12 standard muffin tin sized phyllo cups

Ingredients:
4 oz phyllo dough (1/2 of an 8oz package), thawed
3 tbsp butter (feel free to use salted butter here)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Melt the butter in the microwave.  In the meantime, separate the phyllo into 4 layers.  Brush each layer with 1/4 of the melted butter, and stack each layer on top of each other.  Cut into 12 squares, then nestle them into the muffin tins:

Bake for 10 minutes, until golden brown:

Fill and enjoy.  See you tomorrow!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Appetizer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Homemade Phyllo Cups

  1. They look fantastic. I am also a bite size kind of gal, but lazy. I found a company that makes them and it saves me the trouble.

    You are so talented and creative….me jealous!

  2. I love that you show us how it looks before it gets baked… I always worry that I’m doing it wrong! These look like a perfect addition for my appetizers list! I love bite sized snacks as well!

    • Joanne Ozug says:

      Yes and what’s funny is you can tell that I didn’t put any effort into making them look pretty before the baking process LOL. I just kind of shoved the squares in there…and they bake up so prettily!

  3. Suzi says:

    How cute these little cups are and you can fill them with whatever you like. I have wanted to know how to make these. They make such wonderful appetizers. Thanks and Happy Holidays!

  4. These looks like delicious little nibbles of goodness.

  5. alyssa says:

    Very cute and great for a party app for the holidays

  6. These are beautiful, Joanne, and versatile. The chicken salad looks good, too.

  7. We did these a few years ago for a party and they were so popular! I love how yours turned out. Perfectly filled and topped too.

  8. I love using phyllo cups! So soft and crispy!

  9. A great idea for party food. I’ll steal this idea but make a veggie or fish filling – thanks 🙂

  10. Stef Lowe says:

    Joanne! I’ve been officially obsessed with food blogs and have so many bookmarked recipes to try–come to find out that some of them are yours! I’m so impressed & excited to see someone I know doing such big things in the foodie community! We’ve definitely come a long way since Campo 🙂 I’ll definitely be following your blog..your pictures are gorgeous!

    • Joanne Ozug says:

      Hey Stef, LOL that’s too funny! Thank you, it’s been fun blogging and doing little things here and there in the food world. What are you up to these days?

      • Stef Lowe says:

        I finished my undergrad in Hawaii and now I’m working on my master’s in counseling psychology out there! Definitely keeping me busy…I’m home for the holidays though!

  11. What a great idea! And I love your ingredients for chicken salad!

  12. mjskit says:

    You are just full of some of the greatest ideas! Love these little cups and I’m so glad you linked back to the cranberry pesto chicken recipe, because I would definitely fill these with that! It seems like you could fill these beauties with just about anything. 🙂 Happy Holidays!

  13. anne says:

    They look fabulous ! Great idea for party food 🙂 Gorgeous photos as always !

  14. Ann says:

    Delicious! It’s amazing – they sell these at grocery stores for a TON of $$$ – and you can make your own! I love foods in a food container – so you go right ahead and keep on a postin’!

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    Great timing, this is a good idea for some cocktail dishes which I can use this weekend. Thanks!

  16. Ditto.. I am also having a gathering and this is one of those great make ahead ideas just fill before serving. Thanks for the inspirations.

  17. Nydia says:

    You are right, that is exactly what I was thinking when have a first look on your post, cups again…and you know what, I found it great, please, don’t stop making this delightful cups.

  18. I too love individual portions! Love your phyllo cups!
    🙂 Mandy

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

