Cheddar Scallion Jalapeño Bread

I know this isn’t really a holiday themed recipe, but with all the sugar cookies I ate yesterday, I needed something uber savory to balance myself out.  So I made this, because all the ingredients I have here are ones that I always have on hand.  Cheddar, scallions, garlic, and jalapeño, blended into a spread and baked on crusty bread until bubbly and gooey.  Here’s how to make it:

Serves 4

Ingredients:
1 oz sharp cheddar cheese, grated
1 tbsp butter, at room temperature
2 scallions, roughly chopped
2 cloves garlic, roughly chopped
1 tbsp chopped jalapeno
pinch of salt and pepper
2 large slices of crusty bread

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

In a food processor, blend the cheese and butter until combined.  Throw in the scallions, garlic, and jalapeno, and add a pinch of salt and pepper.  Process until relatively smooth, then spread it onto your bread.

Bake for 10 minutes until bubbly and cheesy.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cheddar Scallion Jalapeño Bread

  1. What are we supposed to be sticking just to the holiday theme? Bah Humbug. I’d rather have this bread! Looks wonderful.

  2. OMG this looks fantastic! I have to make this!

  3. K says:

    mmmmmm! what kind of crusty bread did you use? it looks delicious 🙂

  4. Reading this I’ve got the munchies now 🙂

  5. This is such a great, easy recipe!!! Would be really good for parties…. and anything with japaleno AND cheddar clearly had me at hello!!!!

  6. wok with ray says:

    Jalapeno and cheddar is such a great combo for me. The addition of scallions made it even better. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I like your site, it’s very nice.

    ~ ray ~

  7. Wow this sounds fantastic. So much flavor in this spread. The bread must taste incredible. Yummy!

  8. B says:

    This sounds wonderful, I think I’m going to make this for Christmas.

  9. rsmacaalay says:

    What a great flavours for a bread spread! I want mine extra spicy.

  10. Ann says:

    I adore cookies, but I think I’d take this instead! Thanks for sharing…it’s awesome!

  11. spicegirlfla says:

    I could so see this with some chilli! Fabulous spread with just enough kick!

  12. Fantastic use of day old bread (or fresh bread I suppose). 🙂 Forget the holidays…more recipes like this!

  13. I don’t know about that…my holiday table would love this! Delicious!

  14. Joy says:

    The bread looks so yummy.

  15. mjskit says:

    You can’t get much easier and tastier than this! Great snack or an appetizer! I’ve got a holiday party coming up and the guests will LOVE this!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

