Chocolate Pots de Créme with White Chocolate Whipped Cream


Before I start my little blurb on my chocolate pots de créme, I wanted to link to a short interview I did at Chop Biscuit with Danny of the Panera Bread innovation team.  During the brief times I’ve talked to Danny on the phone, I’ve been really impressed and excited by the forward thinking and innovative ideas that some genius people on this team have thought up, and I can’t wait to see where it all goes.  The food world has changed a ton over just even the past 5 years, who knows where we’ll be in another 5!

On to these chocolate beauties.  I hardly think I even need to say anything, since the photo really does all the talking.  Pot de créme is a delicious little custard dessert that can pretty much be made in any flavor.  Today it’s bittersweet chocolate topped with a white chocolate whipped cream, and it’s just silky creamy heaven.  And according to my grandma, I always say “it’s really easy” about all my recipes, but I really do think this is pretty easy!  Here’s how:

Makes four 4oz ramekins

Pot de Créme Ingredients:
1 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup skim milk
3 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped
1/4 cup sugar
4 egg yolks
1 tbsp amaretto liqueur (optional)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
White Chocolate Whipped Cream:
1 oz white chocolate, melted
1/3 cup heavy cream
1 tbsp powdered sugar

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

Bring the heavy cream and skim milk to a bare simmer in a saucepan set over medium heat.  Remove from the heat, and stir in the chocolate.  Whisk until combined.

In a large bowl, whisk to combine the sugar, egg yolks, amaretto, and vanilla.  While constantly whisking, slowly drizzle in the chocolate cream.

Once it is fully whisked in, strain the entire mixture in case you scrambled any egg.  Pour the strained chocolate custard evenly into ramekins, and place in a 9×13 baking dish.  Cover each ramekin tightly with foil, and add enough hot water to come halfway up the sides of the ramekins.  Bake for 45 minutes, until set, but still jiggly.

Remove the ramekins from the water bath and chill for 3 hours in the refrigerator.

To make the white chocolate whipped cream, whip the heavy cream and powdered sugar to soft peaks, then fold in the melted white chocolate.  Dollop onto the chilled pots de creme.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Chocolate Pots de Créme with White Chocolate Whipped Cream

  1. Chocolate pots are always a winner and they really are easy to make. Yours looks superb.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. These pots de creme do look delicious as well as indulgent. The addition of the white chocolate whipped cream on top really makes it these extra special. Would love to try these-well done.

  3. Leah Taylor says:

    OH MY this looks fantastic. YUMMMMMM

  4. Anonymous says:

    The picture really does do all the talking! These look like chocolately heaven!

  5. The picture really does do all the talking! These look like chocolately heaven!

  6. Amaretto optional? NEVER! Looks awesome.

  7. Man, these look great and I’m not even that much of a chocolate lover. Just told another blogger that I give up. My husband and I are never going to lose weight when you post your recipes. but when they look as nice as this, I’ll diet another day, when you’re not posting recipes LOL

  8. What do you mean this photo does not do this dish justice? I so am willing to blow my diet on this little number.

  9. Colleen M. says:

    These were so good! I made them this afternoon as my study break and they were such a great treat. Very easy to make as well 🙂

  10. lyuda says:

    I need to eat this, ASAP

  11. I concur with Greg…amaretto is never optional. Can I place my order for dessert now? 🙂

  12. Jaqie says:

    Aaah, I wish I could reach into my computer screen and just grab that ramekin full of chocolate!!

  13. rsmacaalay says:

    Two words! Perfect and Decadent

  14. Carolyn Chan says:

    Wowzer that looks wonderful!

  15. Ann says:

    Absolutely stunning! You’re right – the photo was worth 1000 words! I love pots de creme!

  16. Oh yum I love chocolate pots de creme!! I just made them for dessert the other day with maple whipped cream. Yours look wonderful – I love the addition of amaretto and the white chocolate whipped cream sounds divine! Such an elegant dessert.

  17. joy says:

    Yum, it looks so cream and light.

  18. Mmm, this looks yummy and chocolate.

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

