Coconut Lime Dulce de Leche Bark

“Everything in moderation, including moderation.”  This is one of those times when you break away from moderation and splurge.  I’m just going to state very bluntly that this is complete calorie city, but it’s very much worth it, and the holiday season is the only time when there is any hope of indulging without too much guilt.  So my friends, I present to you something that you may not have ever seen before, and it’s basically a dulce de leche bar with coconut and lime.  It’s caramely, chewy, zesty from the lime and toasty from the coconut, all in one bite.  The stuff is amazing.  I mean just LOOK at those lacey nooks and crannies. Here’s how to make it, it’s VERY simple:

 Yield: Probably should serve about 8 people, but only serves 2 in my house.  My mouth and my belly.  Just kidding.

Ingredients:
2 14oz cans sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup light corn syrup
2 tbsp amaretto liqueur, or 1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
14oz bag sweetened flaked coconut
5 oz bag sliced almonds
zest of 1 lime

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a 11×17 sheet pan completely with parchment paper.

In a large mixing bowl, stir to combine the sweetened condensed milk, corn syrup,  amaretto liqueur or vanilla, and salt.  Dump in the coconut, almonds, and lime zest and stir to distribute.

Spread the mixture evenly onto the parchment paper lined baking sheet.

Bake for about 25 minutes, but keep an eye on the coconut bark.  It’s done when it looks golden brown all over, and especially golden brown on the edges.

Allow the coconut bark to cool for a few hours, and you may even want to eat these refrigerated (it’s just one of those preferences that varies from person to person).  Cut into bars with a sharp knife.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

Recipe adapted from Vanilla Kitchen’s Spicy Pecan Cocada.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Coconut Lime Dulce de Leche Bark

  1. Oh boy this is so, but so tempting…thaks for the recipe…I am a dulce de leche junkie

  2. Wow, these sound outstanding and so simple. I love all these ingredients. I’m definitely making these. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Meg says:

    Um, wow — this looks absolutely amazing! I love all the different tastes happening here. So unique!

  4. These look like they would taste great. Mom and I have been walking around moodily craving sweets — a craving that was not satisfied by Thanksgiving pies! We don’t know if it is the change in light or cooler weather or genetic programming to expect Christmas sweets!

  5. My family is from Argentina so dulce de leche is as common as air and steak down there. Never thought about combining it with coconut or lime though… I bet my grandma would love this!

  6. OH my GOODNESS. I’ll go light on the moderation, heavy on the splurge for this.

  7. Caroline says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! No other word to describe these. They look perfect, Joanne!

  8. Looking at those photos I’m drooling!

  9. rsmacaalay says:

    I am really laughing out loud here after reading the line that serves 2, I agree that looks so divine.

  10. Susan says:

    So pretty! I love the caramelisation. I would devour all of these!

  11. Christy says:

    This is definitely something I have not really tasted before, although we do have lots of coconut-inspired cookies, breads, etc here in my country 🙂
    It looks tantalizing, and just so tempting 😉

  12. anne says:

    There’s no such thing as moderation when it comes to dulce de leche 😀 I just love the different combination there esp the lime zest that gives a slightly tangy flavor to offset the sweetness of condensed milk 🙂

  13. dinnersdishesanddesserts says:

    How simple are these! What a great recipe – such different flavors than are traditional to the holidays!

  14. Nydia says:

    You are right, looks not so difficult to make. It’s like a “cocada”, but with almonds…delicious…

  15. mjskit says:

    It’s been bookmarked! I love the chewy, caramel, toasty coconut! I’m sure it is worth every calorie! 🙂

  16. January is for fasting right, but it is still only December? Hook me up with a slice of that decadent Coconut Chewy delight!

  17. I’m not always into coconut, but if you tell me there is the flavor of Dulce de Leche, then I’m all in!

  18. TheGrubDaily says:

    I’m living in Buenos Aires right now, and the Portenos are obsessed with all things Dulce de Leche. I can’t wait to make these for my friends, they look awesome!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

