The Perfect Thanksgiving Turkey

Making up my own thanksgiving turkey recipe would just be silly, because Alton Brown’s method is the only way, as far as I’m concerned.  There’s a reason it’s the most heavily reviewed recipe on Foodnetwork.com and why it has perfect 5 out of 5 stars across the board.  It’s the king of turkey recipes.

Turkey should be brined, so that it stays juicy and moist, and also for even seasoning within the meat.  It’s easy to do and makes all the difference.  You will need a big bag to brine the turkey in (or you can use a bucket), but I like to use a turkey brining bag.  That amazon price is fairly expensive, so try to look for it in store.  I think Bed Bath & Beyond has it for $5 instead.  Last year I got my bag at Whole Foods for $4.  Here’s the recipe:

Good Eats Roast Turkey by Alton Brown.

See you tomorrow for a recipe!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Perfect Thanksgiving Turkey

  1. I also make Alton Brown’s recipe for homemade green bean casserole. Awesome!

  2. Must confess to never having cooked a whole turkey before. *blushes*
    🙂 Mandy

  3. foodembrace says:

    I ended up going with the bucket method. You can get them pretty cheap at Lowes or Home Depot. Just gotta be sure to mark it that it’s for turkey so you don’t accidentally use it for paint or something later! 🙂

  4. Karen says:

    Brining is definitely the way to go for a moist and tender turkey. Thank goodness it have a second refrigerator for the large bucket.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Could you use a trash bag?

    • Joanne says:

      Hm, if you were sure the seals were strong, then it could work. It’s important to be sure though, otherwise you’ll be cleaning up raw turkey juices which I imagine is not fun. Good luck!

  6. Thanks for this.. great recipe! I love alton 🙂

  7. Pingback: Thanksgiving day -8 : Brining Turkey « In Cucina Da Me

  8. Thanks for sharing. I never brine my turkey, I worry it will make my stuffing salty, but someone said they always stuff their brined turkey. Off to read this…

  9. Need to figure out my thanksgiving plans!! If only the movers would arrive with out stuff, so I could unpack and actually be able to think about it!

  10. I’ve heard of the brining method for chicken, and we don’t really get whole turkey here so I’m left coming up with my own recipe for the bird…. Looking forward to seeing your pictures!

  11. 100% behind brining. It’s the x factor concerning turkey

  12. Ann says:

    I’ve not made this exact recipe, but I’ve made one very similar and I agree – brining a whole turkey is amazing!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

