Caramelized Pear and Gorgonzola Pizza

This is my first month being part of the Secret Recipe Club, and I must say, it is so much fun!  If you’ve never heard of SRC, basically every month you are assigned another blog, and you make one of their recipes.  Everyone posts the recipe they chose as well as who they had on a designated reveal date.  It’s like Secret Santa for food bloggers!  This month I was assigned a blog called Wholesome RD.  I really enjoyed looking over Erin’s recipes, and the best part about her blog is she includes nutritional information for all the recipes.   I mean, I guess it makes sense, given that she’s a registered dietician and all, but I still think it’s great.  The recipe I selected from her blog is a caramelized pear and gorgonzola pizza, let me show you how I made it:

Yield: 1 pizza

Ingredients:
1/2 batch pizza dough, prebaked for 10 minutes
6 oz gruyere cheese, shredded
4 oz gorgonzola cheese
2 d’anjou green pears, cored and thinly sliced
1 tbsp butter, divided
1/2 a large red onion, thinly sliced
1/2 tsp fresh thyme leaves
2 tsp honey
1.5 tsp olive oil
1 tsp rice vinegar
salt and pepper
1/4 cup hazelnuts, chopped

Directions:
The pizza dough should have just been baked for 10 minutes in a 425 degree oven.  Keep the oven on 425.

Heat up a nonstick skillet over medium heat and add 1/2 tbsp of butter.  Add the pears to the pan and caramelize for a couple minutes, until they soften up a little.  Be careful not to cook them to mush.  Remove from the pan.

Add the other 1/2 tbsp of butter to the pan, and add the sliced onion.  Season with a pinch of salt, and cook for 10 minutes until caramelized.
Whisk to combine the fresh thyme, honey, olive oil, and vinegar.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Brush this mixture onto the parbaked pizza.  Distribute the caramelized onions evenly on top of the pizza, then sprinkle over the gruyere.

Layer on the caramelized pear slices, and crumble over the gorgonzola.  Lastly, sprinkle on the chopped hazelnuts.  Bake for 12-15 minutes, until the cheese has melted and the edges are golden brown.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

Recipe adapted from Wholesome RD.

My changes:

This uses bosc pears originally but the ones at the store didn’t look good, so I went with the d’anjous.  Use any good pears you can find. I subbed red onion instead of shallots because the ones at the store looked old.  I also used a simpler dressing for the pizza.



This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Caramelized Pear and Gorgonzola Pizza

  1. Love the flavors in this! I did an apple & blue tart awhile ago so this is obviously the next step, right? Can’t wait to try it!

  2. Oh yum! This pizza looks oh so good! I’m a sucker for homemade pizzas and flatbreads and this combo of pear and gorgonzola looks tremendous.

  3. Shay says:

    Looks good! Thanks for sharing! Visit me at http://raisingdieter.blogspot.com/ for a giveaway and recipes!

  4. amy says:

    Looks great! So fun to be in SRC with you!

  5. Yes, Yes, Yes. Oh sorry. I just really want this!

  6. Welcome to the SRC! This looks like a great pick… pear and blue cheese are always good together, and you just can’t go wrong with pizza in any way, shape or form as far as I’m concerned. 🙂 Wish I had a slice or two of this for my lunch today.

  7. ButterYum says:

    Beautiful pizza and really great pics – you captured the deliciousness so well. I hope you’ll stop by and visit my SRC post for Honey Vinaigrette Marinated Grilled Chicken.

    🙂
    ButterYum

    http://butteryum.blogspot.com/2011/11/honey-vinaigrette-grilled-chicken.html

  8. Yum! I love exotic pizzas this looks delicious. Great to be a part of SRC with you!

  9. Anonymous says:

    Hi Joanne,
    This is an awesome pizza that we would really enjoy! This is a great pick for the SRC! Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful week.
    Miz Helen
    http://mizhelenscountrycottage.blogspot.com/2011/11/brussels-sprouts-salad-with-warm-bacon.html

  10. sweetflours says:

    This pizza just screams fall comfort food to me. It look scrumptious. Great first pick!

  11. So pretty! The Bosc probably would have had a little more “bite” (think al dente vs overcooked pasta) than the D’anjous, but I bet it was still so delicious! Welcome to the SRC…glad to have you. If you haven’t already, I’d love it if you’d check out my SRC recipe for Crockpot Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal.

  12. Tes says:

    What an interesting combo on pizza! It looks so delicious 🙂

  13. Caroline says:

    Oh my, that pizza sounds incredible, Joanne. Pear and gorgonzola go so well together. Your crust is gorgeous! I can’t stop staring at the photos…I’ve had a problem with that this morning. It’s really making me be somewhat unproductive at work, ha!

  14. I can eat pizza 365 days of the year and could probably enjoy this at least a month. 😉

  15. Ummm this sounds fun! and that looks delicious!

  16. Betsy says:

    I just joined SRC this month too and am loving it so far! I’m not a huge fan of traditional pizza (don’t love the sauce) but this one looks right up my alley!

  17. Anonymous says:

    Your pizza looks wonderful and I love the flavor combo of pear and gorgonzola.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my group ‘A’ SRC recipe this month: Pork Belly Soup with Collard Greens.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  18. kristi says:

    I love gorgonzola and pears together and your pizza sounds awesome. Thanks for sharing.

  19. Foodiewife says:

    I just made an apple and gouda pizza, with caramelized onions and i loved it! I was thinking of pear and gorgonzola, next, and here’s your recipe. This is also my first month of participating.
    Great photos, too.

  20. Deb says:

    Wow – this looks awesome and now on my MUST try list!

  21. Trisha says:

    Welcome to SRC, glad you could join us. The pizza looks lovely and I love the combination of flavors!

  22. Anonymous says:

    So glad you liked it! It’s my favorite pizza! Love your pictures too!

  23. So glad you liked it! It’s my favorite pizza! Love your pictures too!

  24. Tammy says:

    I love pears (especially Korean pears), gorgonzola cheese and thyme. I’m wondering about the hazelnuts, though. My mind has hazelnuts in a very exclusive, monogamous relationship with chocolate. LOL!

    • Joanne says:

      OMG I love Korean pears. I grew up eating them and just love how crisp they are. I bet they would be awesome on a pizza!!! I must try it. I almost subbed out the hazelnuts here for walnuts, but the hazelnuts definitely worked.

  25. Ann says:

    Congratulations on being a member of the SRC – this is FABULOUS! I love the flavor combination of pear and gorgonzola…and sticking it on a pizza is brilliant!

  26. Jo says:

    Welcome to SRC! This pizza sounds so good, I may need to add it to the dinner plans for this week. I do have one night not set in stone and some pears just getting ripe, they’d be perfect for this!

  27. mjskit says:

    What a great recipe to the SRC with! It looks fabulous! I love the cheeses you used with the pears. So delicious! Great job!

  28. rsmacaalay says:

    Honestly that pizza made me drool! Wow I badly wanna have a slice of those

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

