Pumpkin Cream Filled Brandy Snaps

Even if you don’t make the brandy snaps (but you should), you need to at least find time over the next several weeks to make the pumpkin whipped cream.  For heavens sakes, I was sucking the stuff out of the piping bag.  I wish I could say it stopped there, but I turned the piping back inside out and licked the bag clean.  To be fair, it had been a rough day, and I had just gotten back from the emergency room.  I always wear gloves when working with fresh chiles, but I was working with a dried one and didn’t think to put the gloves on…well, an hour or so after I was done cooking and had washed my hands, I rubbed my eye. *sigh* I know, I felt like an idiot, and was running around the house screaming bloody murder as my eye burned.   Anyway, I’m thankful I had this stuff waiting at home to cheer me up, because it did (amazing how food does that sometimes).  When your teeth break through the crisp shell of these lacey cookies, your mouth is filled with the pumpkin spiced whipped cream.  That is a bite of happiness.  Here’s how to make them:
Makes 12-16 brandy snaps (this is halved from the original recipe, so feel free to double it…I just can’t have too many cookies around for my own good)

Cookie Ingredients:
4 tbsp unsalted butter
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup molasses
1.75 oz flour (6 tbsp)
1/16 tsp salt
1/16 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tbsp brandy liqueur

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Melt the butter over medium heat in a skillet, then stir in the sugar and molasses.  Allow it to come to a bubble, then let it bubble for 60 seconds.

Turn the heat to low, then stir in the flour, salt, nutmeg, and Brandy.

Use a #60 2 tsp disher to portion out the cookies onto a baking sheet.  Only do 4-6 per baking sheet, because they spread a lot.  Bake for 10 minutes, and keep the remaining cookie batter on the low heat.

Remove the cookies from the oven, and let them cool for a couple minutes.  Peel them off the baking sheet, and wrap them around the handle of a whisk or something you can use to shape them into a pipe.

Let them cool on a plate, until they are completely set (and re-shape as needed)

Pipe the pumpkin whipped cream into the cooled cookies.  Enjoy!

Pumpkin Whipped Cream Ingredients:
1/3 cup heavy cream
3 tbsp pumpkin puree
2 tbsp sugar (or to taste)
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:
Place all ingredients in a bowl, and whip to soft peaks.

Click here for the printable recipe.

Cookie portion adapted from the Pioneer Woman.  Pumpkin whipped cream original.

This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Pumpkin Cream Filled Brandy Snaps

  1. I just made ginger snaps as part of my sister-in-laws birthday present (unfilled). LOVE the idea of your pumpkin filling – easy to understand why you were licking teh bag clean.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Oh no, so sorry about the ER trip. These look comforting.

  3. pumpkin whipped cream-oh I can think of several good uses for this tasty concoction-right on top of cinnamon ice cream for one, cupcake filling…etc. I am rambling-but it sounds so delicious-your creativity has generated a winner! The eye burning incident does make me cringe, I am glad you are over that.

  4. I have never seen anything like this before, but they sound amazing! Sorry for your trip to the ER! Not that it would help with your eye, but rubbing alcohol gets rid of the burn if you get it on your fingers or anywhere else!

  5. Ann says:

    OMG – these are absolutely stunning! Thank you SO Much for sharing – I’m drooling already!

  6. Kiki says:

    Hope your eye is better now! Did you use pumpkin puree out of a can? Because we can’t get that here, so I was wondering if I could just puree fresh pumpkin in the blender and use that. Or do you think the consistency might be a problem?

    • Joanne says:

      Hey Kiki! Yes it’s better now thank you! Just wanted to give a reminder to everyone to wear gloves when working with chiles LOL. Yes, I did canned, but you can totally use fresh! Just make sure you use the sugar pumpkin…I think that’s the culinary one, right? If you’re worried about consistency, after you puree the pumpkin you could press it through a fine meshed sieve, that way you get the pulp but the fibers and stuff get left behind. I hope that helps!

  7. OMG those look so good!

  8. I am sorry about your ER visit and hope you are feeling better. These little treats look delightful- crispy and creamy!

  9. OMG! Total foodie chills for this recipe. Holy yum, girl. You outdid yourself with this one. Sorry to hear about the chili episode. I have totally been there, done that. It’s not fun! Who knew dried chili’s were as potent as the fresh ones? We do!

  10. The dangers of working with chiles, but glad you’re ok. Alway good to come home to a tasty treat like these though!

  11. Jenn says:

    These were fun to make!! I couldn’t roll the cookies fast enough! They went from too hot to touch to hard really quickly. I agree that the pumpkin cream was so yummy! Trying to think what else I can put it in or on! Maybe on top of pancakes or something! Thanks for sharing!

    • Joanne says:

      Hey Jenn, YAY I’m so glad you enjoyed them. Yes, these are just like tuiles in the sense where you have to move quickly to get that shape. But they are tasty! Hm…pancakes would be good, even waffles or something like that. Thanks for letting me know you tried these =) !!!

  12. Oh my, these look seriously tempting, and you make the cooking of the brandy snaps look really simple. I think I’ll have a go at the pumpkin cream first ! Lovel blog 🙂

  13. Anonymous says:

    Can you just keep these in the fridge once they’re made? Or would you keep the cookies separate from the cream until they are ready to be eatten?

    • Joanne says:

      I would keep them separate, store the cream in the fridge and the cookies at room temperature. If you put the cookies in the fridge they will get soggy and lose their crunch. Same thing if you put the cream inside way in advance, it will get soggy.

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

