Cheese Crisps

Everyone has had a cheese crisp before (or at least I should hope so), but these aren’t your ordinary cheese crisp.  These have crispy rice cereal in them, so they have extra crackly crispiness and pop.  You can really use whatever kind of cheese you want here, as long as it’s some sort of melty variety.  I suggest gruyere or cheddar, but I’m sure something like a fontina would work great too.  Here’s how to make these:

Makes 2 dozen crisps

Ingredients:
7 tbsp butter, at room temperature
8 oz gruyere or cheddar cheese, shredded
3.5 oz all purpose flour (about 2/3 cup)
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup crispy rice cereal

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Beat together the butter and cheese until combined.  Add the flour, cayenne, and salt and beat until you get a crumbly dough. Add the rice cereal and beat briefly just to combine (don’t overbeat or you might break up the rice crisps).
Use a disher to portion out 1 tbsp amounts of dough, and place onto a sheet pan (it will look like a pile of rubble).  Use a fork to hash and compact it down.  Bake for about 15 minutes, until lightly browned.  Let them cool, and enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

Recipe adapted from Food & Wine 2008 annual cookbook.

This entry was posted in Appetizer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cheese Crisps

  1. These look great, Joanne. Perfect with the grapes — another beautiful photo. I’m going to try your plus rice recipe next time I make cheese straws.

  2. Charlie says:

    Joanne:

    These look so good!
    If I have the ingredients on hand I’m going to make these with supper tonight.
    Love the idea of the rice krispies.

    Thanks

  3. Those look great and are probably the perfect texture too a little airy.

  4. Nydia says:

    I never imagine adding crips rice to a crisp cheese…you have very original ideas…!!!

  5. I don’t think I have ever had cheese crisps before. I’m thinking it’s time to change that! These sound awesome!

  6. rispy cheese is truly one of the most incredible tasting things I can think of.

  7. Ann says:

    Fantastic! I LOVE cheese crisps and yours are picture perfect!

  8. alyssa says:

    I like the addition of rice cereal to make these extra crispy! My kids love all things cheese and crackers so I will be trying this one!

  9. spicegirlfla says:

    What a fabulous and so unexpected twist to a cheese crisp! I love it!!

  10. mjskit says:

    You could sell these – you know that don’t you? I would certainly buy them! YUMMY!

  11. rsmacaalay says:

    This honestly looks so delicious!

  12. What’s not to like?? These look and sound seriously awesome. I’d eat them all.

  13. Ooh, these look awesome! I would dash to the kitchen right now if I had rice krispy’s on hand!
    Fantastic recipe!
    🙂 Mandy

  14. They look so toasty and crispy-your picture really does make me crave these. I would have never thought of using rice cereal, but it does guarantee the crispiness! Delicious post-thanks for sharing.

  15. Stef says:

    The crispy rice cereal is an innovative addition – fun!

  16. Pingback: Mad Scientist Cheese Crackers « thekalechronicles

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

