Shrimp and Cucumber Sesame Noodles

Every once in a while I crave these flavors and must have them, nothing else will suffice.   It’s different things for different people…some must have chocolate, some must have a big juicy steak with potatoes, but for me, I crave Asian flavors.  Maybe it’s because when I was growing in my momma’s belly that’s what she ate.  There are two reasons I love this dish: 1. It’s very refreshing and light, and 2.  The dish comes together in 10-15 minutes, which I think is pretty awesome.  All you have to do is boil the noodles, make the dressing while you’re waiting, thaw out some frozen shrimp and julienne a cucumber.  Here’s how to do it:
Serves 2-4

Ingredients:
1/2 lb glass noodles
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1 tsp sriracha
2 tbsp sesame oil
1 tsp honey
1 tbsp walnut oil or vegetable oil
1 tbsp sesame seeds
1/2 lb shrimp, cooked
1 english cucumber, julienned

Directions:
Boil the noodles in heavily salted water, until al dente, about 10-12 minutes.

In the meantime julienne a cucumber:
Make the dressing by whisking to combine the soy sauce, rice vinegar, sriracha, sesame oil, honey, walnut oil, and sesame seeds.  Taste and adjust seasoning as desired.

Once the noodles are finished cooking, drain, then toss with the dressing while the noodles are hot.

Toss in the shrimp and the julienned cucumber.  That’s it!  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Korean, Pasta/Starches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Shrimp and Cucumber Sesame Noodles

  1. Yummy noodles! I am not a huge fan of shrimp, but my hubby would love and go crazy for these!

  2. Norma says:

    Soooo good…now I am craving Asian…

  3. YUMMM that looks amazing!

  4. This looks great, but I can’t quite picture it coming together. Sure would love a video! Ha, just teasing. I can picture it just fine! I bet it tastes awesome.

  5. daisy says:

    Another great recipe and photo!

  6. These look seriously awesome. I love this type of cuisine. Totally want this for dinner now!

  7. mjskit says:

    I love meals like this because sometimes you just don’t want to put out a lot of effort but you want something that tastes like you did. This looks like one of those dishes. I love it!

  8. I adore the chinese cucumber garlic and sesame salad, and noodles are some of my favourites too! Together this spells a lovely light dinner for summer!

  9. Beautifully photographed fabulous meal.
    🙂 Mandy

  10. I love anything with cucumber in it- especially something simple and tasty!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

