Jam Thumbprint Cookies

Can it be Christmas cookie time yet???  Please?  All the stores already have their Christmas decorations out, so I’ve decided that means I’m allowed to start making lots of cookies.  I’ve been making these for years, and my friends know that I affectionately call these “little balls of love” as I make them and dance around the kitchen (that’s not a joke.  It’s probably for the best that I don’t post a video of me making these).  The cookies are soft and buttery, and are pressed with sweet toasted coconut on the outsides and filled with a small dollop of jam.  They’re easily one of my favorite cookies of all time.  Here’s how to make them:
Yields 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
1.5 cups unsalted butter (3 sticks), at room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
17.5 oz all purpose flour (3.5 cups), sifted
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg, beaten
7 oz sweetened flaked coconut
assorted jams of your choice

Directions:
With an electric mixer, beat together the butter and sugar until they are blended.  Add the vanilla.  Set aside.

Whisk the salt into the flour to combine.  With the mixer on low, slowly add the flour mixture to the butter mixture.  Once the flour disappears, stop mixing, and lay out a big piece of plastic wrap on your counter.  Dump the dough out onto the plastic wrap, and use the plastic to shape it into a disk.  Wrap it up and refrigerate for 30 minutes.  Don’t skip this step, you need the butter to harden up so the cookies don’t spread flat in the oven.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Place the coconut in a shallow bowl or plate.

Roll the dough into small balls about an inch thick each (if you care to weigh them, I make mine 1oz a piece).  Note that the dough may seem crumbly at first, but if you use the warmth of your hand to shape them, the crumbliness goes away.  Roll the balls in the egg wash:

Then roll them around in the coconut, to coat.

Place the cookie on your baking sheet, then use your thumb to push an indentation into the cookie (ahhh, now you see why it’s called jam thumbprint cookies).

Repeat with all the dough, then dollop 1/2 tsp amounts of jam into each indentation.  Bake for 20-25 minutes until the coconut is golden brown and toasty.

Let the cookies cool completely on a wire rack.  These aren’t the kind of cookies that taste good when they’re hot.  Once they’re cool, enjoy!!!

Click here for the printable recipe.

Recipe adapted from Ina Garten.

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Jam Thumbprint Cookies

  1. Don’t rush us, Joanne. Sheesh. What makes Christmas baking special is that you do it only in December and make things you don’t make the rest of the year.

  2. Oh these looks scrumptious!
    Have a happy day.
    🙂 Mandy

  3. Norma says:

    As you know a baker I am not..but I have made these before without the coconut. I love coconut. These are beauties and yes, do not rush Christmas….

  4. I remember these from when I was a kid. My dad’s favourite. I may need to make some this year for christmas.

  5. I like the idea of using coconut on the outside. Great twist from the traditional thumb print cookies.

  6. Nydia says:

    The coconut gives cookies a fancy look. Good idea…!!!

  7. I love thumbprint cookies. The coconut is a nice addition. Yum!

  8. Caroline says:

    I’m so ready for it to be Christmas cookie time as well. My favorite time of the year! I’ve surprisingly never made thumbprint cookies, but yours look divine! x

  9. Zastrow says:

    These look so delightful I almost want to leave work, go home and make a batch of them up…and eat them all before the kids get home!! 🙂

  10. Kate Landers says:

    The reason we don’t make Christmas cookies until December is because everyone would weigh 600 lbs!! That being said, I’m going to the store to get coconut right now! Hehe

    • Joanne says:

      LOL!!! Kate you crack me up. That’s very true. I’m being good and not eating Halloween candy this year so I think I’ll have to make myself some cookies instead! Let me know how these go for you!!

  11. Meg says:

    Oooh, these look delightful! My friend and I were just discussing how intoxicating and delicious coconut is. And since these are designated Christmas cookies, the calories don’t count! 🙂 The holidays are a guilt-free gorge fest!

  12. Ann says:

    Honestly, these are stunning! I’ve never seen thumb print cookies that had coconut….amazing! I just love it! The pictures are SO stunning and it’s always a good time to make Christmas cookies!

  13. Yum! Love jam cookies and yours looks the best, with that extra coconut on the sides! Delicious!

  14. So I’ve seen thumbprint cookies before but not with toasted coconut! OMG! I’m not a fan of them usually but I’m almost positive I would love these!

  15. Mark says:

    These are easily one of my all time favorites too. It has to be the toasted coconut for me, or maybe it is the smell of the coconut. I remember being a little kid and someone had a coconut cake and we were served slices. My younger cousin, maybe 3-4, yells out, “HAIR! HAIR! I’m not eating that!” It was funny. Thanks for sharing.

    • Joanne says:

      Hi Mark, sometimes I just eat toasted coconut by itself…it’s so good!!! Couldn’t imagine anyone not loving coconut. LOL that hair comment is great….I guess it does sort of look like a hairy white cake!

  16. Jane says:

    These were quite good, even better the next day. Be sure to sift the flour.

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

