Gruyere Grilled Cheese with Sundried Tomato Soup

Since I didn’t grow up eating meatloaf and mac n cheese, I guess it shouldn’t be surprising that I also had not even heard of the whole grilled cheese with tomato soup combination until I had it at my mother in law’s house about a year ago.  I didn’t expect to like it, but I thought it was a yummy combination, so I decided that I would make my own gourmet jazzed up version of this classic. Gruyere seemed to fit the bill for the grilled cheese, plus, the Gruyere Monster told me that was the only cheese I was allowed to use.  I mean, Gruyere is so gooey stretchy delicious, I couldn’t imagine using anything else, but of course, use whatever you like.  And by the way, even if you don’t like sundried tomatoes, I suggest you try it here because it really just adds another dimension of tomato flavor, and it’s all pureed to a smooth consistency in the end anyway.  You won’t know it’s there!  Here’s how to make the dish:

Serves 4.

Soup Ingredients:
2 tbsp butter
1 cup chopped red onion
1 garlic clove, chopped
1/2 cup sundried tomatoes, packed in olive oil and herbs, roughly chopped
28 oz can diced tomatoes
1/8 tsp dried thyme (you can sub fresh if you want)
salt and pepper

Directions:
Melt the butter in a large pot, and add the onion and garlic.  Saute for 5 minutes until slightly softened.  Add the sundried tomatoes, diced tomatoes and thyme, and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.  Simmer it for 20 minutes with the lid on, so the flavors can meld together.

Make any final seasoning adjustments, and add water if necessary, to restore the original consistency of the soup.  Puree the soup in a blender or with an immersion blender until smooth (don’t overfill the blender or it may explode because of the heat).  Serve with the grilled cheese.

Ingredients:
8 slices french bread
1/2 lb gruyere cheese, grated
butter for greasing the pan

I feel silly writing how to make grilled cheese, but basically you heat up a skillet over medium heat and coat the bottom of the pan with butter.  Lay the slices of french bread in the pan and top with the cheese.  Cook for a couple minutes until the cheese melts and the bread is crispy, and golden brown.  Press 2 slices together to form sandwiches.  Serve with the soup, and enjoy the cheesy tomato goodness!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Bread, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Gruyere Grilled Cheese with Sundried Tomato Soup

  1. Mmm, I’m always a sucker for grilled cheese and tomato soup! I haven’t used Gruyere cheese before. I’ll bet that’s nommie! I was looking for a sun-dried tomato soup recipe last night and couldn’t find one. You are my hero 🙂

  2. That’s funny, but since it made me chuckle I’ll give you a similar story. On our anniversary in April Katherine made strawberry shortcake. She was doing something else and asked me to put it together for the photo. I said sure how do you do that? She laughed. I didn’t grow up having that! I know, not even exotic. Anyway, this looks downright amazing. The soup is so vibrant. And melty cheese, yum.

  3. I thought I was the only one that had never had this combination as a child…good to know I’m not alone. Love your upscale version.

  4. Fantastic combo!
    Have a great week.
    🙂 Mandy

  5. Yuuuuuummmmm, that looks and sounds delicious. Grilled cheese is always a winner!

  6. I love your comment about not overfilling the soup in the blender as it may explode. Did you manage to get those ceiling tiles clean? Too funny and too yummy…. Love the grilled cheese dipped into the soup.

  7. Meghan says:

    Looks perfect! I love that you added sundried tomatoes to the soup! I make tomato soup a lot, but never added sundried tomatoes to it. Gonna have to try it!!

  8. That looks absolutely perfect! Perfectly toasted grilled cheese!

  9. Norma says:

    What colors. I have not had this combo in such a long time.

  10. I have a jar of sundried tomatoes I haven’t figured out what to do with yet…this recipe sounds like a perfect weekend lunch!

  11. What a gorgeous recipe for a delicious soup, even now, as the weather transitions toward summer yet the nights are chilly and a bowl like this, with melted cheese toast would be so inviting!

  12. Kristen says:

    So glad I found this because I’ve almost used up all of the tomato soup that I made for winter. And yes, I do realize it’s on October! Thanks for sharing!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

