Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Buttercream

Are you drooling yet???  Yeah, sorry about that.  But I really think you have to make these, because they’re just so darned easy and also freaking delicious.  You know, I don’t really understand how there are so many cupcake shops that stay in business.  But I guess it’s probably because there are a lot of bad cupcake recipes online and that scares people off.  So if you’ve had some less than amazing cupcakes, please do yourself a favor and make these.  There is no fancy machinery required, they’re extraordinarily stunning, and also the best cupcakes my husband and I have ever had.  And I didn’t even use a piping tip to pipe out the buttercream.  I just cut off a corner of a Ziploc bag and piped it out that way, drizzled some chocolate syrup on top, and garnished with some chopped peanuts.  Gorgeous (and look how moist the crumb is)!  Here’s how to make them:

This recipe yields 12 standard cupcakes.  I actually halved it from the original recipe, therefore it easily doubles. I just really can’t have more then 12 cupcakes in my house at any given time, for my own good (my husband and I ate 8 of the 12 the day I made them, if that gives you any idea of how dangerous they are).

Ingredients:
4 oz all purpose flour (about 3/4 cup)
1/4 cup+ 2 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup whole buttermilk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 extra large egg, at room temperature
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup freshly brewed coffee
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips tossed with pinch of cocoa powder
chopped peanuts, for garnish
chocolate syrup or chocolate ganache, for drizzling

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a muffin tin with paper liners.

Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Stir in the sugar.  Set aside.  In another bowl, whisk to blend the buttermilk, vegetable oil, egg, and vanilla.  Slowly pour the wet ingredients into the dry while stirring, and before the flour has disappeared into the batter, stir in the coffee.  It will make the batter quite thin.  Last, add in the chocolate chips.  Evenly divide the batter into the 12 muffin cups.
Bake for 22 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean.  Let the cupcakes cool on a wire rack completely, then pipe on the buttercream, drizzle with chocolate syrup, and sprinkle on some chopped peanuts.

Peanut Butter Buttercream:
1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature (2 sticks)
5 oz powdered sugar (1 cup)
1/8 tsp salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup peanut butter, at room temperature

Beat everything in a bowl until smooth and blended.  I don’t like my buttercream too sweet, but if you need, you can beat in more powdered sugar.

Click here for the printable recipe.

Cake portion adapted from Ina’s Beatty’s Chocolate Cake.  Buttercream recipe is original.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Buttercream

  1. Ann says:

    Yay! I get to leave the first comment (because I’m up WAY too late again). Speaking of being up – this is terrific late night food! What beautiful cupcakes with my absolutely favorite flavor combo! Thanks so much for making these!

    • Joanne says:

      HAHA yes I’m up too late too! I normally post in the morning but I couldn’t help myself. Technically it’s Thursday!!! lol. I’m just so excited about these cupcakes!

  2. These look to die for!! Chocolate and peanut butter of course is a winner, but the cupcakes look perfect! I think I could eat all 12, that would be a problem!

  3. Jess says:

    OMG. I know what Zach’s going to be requesting soon…

  4. Oh good god, those look insanely good.

  5. I was up late myself when I saw this and decided to wait til morning to comment. This is soooo rich and gooey and sticky and I love it….

  6. Colleen M. says:

    Taylor’s two favorite dessert flavors are chocolate and PB! We will definitely be making these soon 🙂 They look delicious!!

  7. These are definitely making me drool, they look so bad for you but soooo good at the same time!

  8. Chrissy says:

    Oh mannn! These look incredible!

  9. I am, as it happens… What fantastic looking cupcakes – a delicious combination of flavours. Delicious!

  10. Holy….goodness! These look so insanely delicious. My husband’s favorite flavor combo is peanut butter chocolate- he’d love these!

  11. These look delicious. I just found your blog and love it. I know I’ll be a regular

  12. Samantha says:

    These look incredible!

  13. Meg says:

    Chocolate and peanut butter together just may be my biggest food obsession, and I love the peanuts on top! Such a nice touch!

  14. daisy says:

    I’ve died and gone to heaven!

  15. Kiki says:

    Definitely drooling over these! Even before you asked the question, just looking at that first picture makes me want to take a bite. Not possible, unfortunately, so have to bookmark this and try them myself…

  16. Lisette says:

    I tried this recipe but I think its missing butter in the batter, no? And I’ve never made cupcakes before. It’s so hard. My cupcakes rose and fell in the oven and came out will craters in the centers of them. Also, my icing was too runny. Help!?

    • Joanne says:

      There is no butter in the cupcakes, the fat here is the vegetable oil. Whenever something like cupcakes or muffins sink in the center, that means they weren’t baked long enough (the craters are still liquid, and the unbaked part). So in the future if that happens, bake them longer. Question, do you have an oven thermometer/are you sure your oven is accurate? Ovens can be off by quite a bit, I’ve found. I always use an oven thermometer so I know mine is accurate. Also, regarding the icing, are you using Jif (i.e. a partially hydrogenated oil peanut butter) or natural peanut butter? Additionally, your butter may have gotten too warm and runny, and that can easily be remedied by sticking it in the fridge for 15-30min so it can harden up. I know that’s a lot of info but I want to help you! I’ve made these many times and they are adapted from a recipe that has really great reviews. I’ve never had issues with them and I want to figure out you can make stellar cupcakes next time! Let me know!!! Also, did they all come out slightly sunken in the center, or just some of them?

  17. Anonymous says:

    You didn’t say what to do with the chocolate chips? A bit confused. Great recipe though! 😀

  18. Pingback: Recipe Roundup Nov. 2011 « A Gaming Girl's Take on Life

  19. Pingback: Moist chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter buttercream, chocolate sauce and chopped… « Thoughts From Amanda Blain

  20. Pingback: Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting « Food Is My Life

  21. Pingback: Merry Christmas – Chocolate Log Cake with Peanut Butter Buttercream Filling and Chocolate Meringue Buttercream « Food Is My Life

  22. Shalla says:

    Hi there! Can’t wait to try this recipe! Are you able to provide the original recipe? I would Iike to make 24. I could go off your halfed recipe but I’m sure I will mess up the measurements somehow! Thank you.

    • Joanne Ozug says:

      Hi Shalla, the original recipe is the one I linked to at the bottom of the post, Ina Garten’s Beatty’s chocolate cake. Let me know how you like them! I should make these again sometime…they’re so good!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

