Cherry Butter, Sunflower Seed Butter, and Cocoa Powder: A Review


On one of the blogs I read, Sweet Caroline’s Cooking, I noticed Caroline posted a review on some food products she got to try from a big online food and health products store named Swanson Vitamins.  Generally I’m pretty weary of reviewing products on my blog (the only product I’ve ever posted about in 200+ posts is about my love for Popcorners), but as I spent a few minutes looking at their selection, there were several things that caught my eye.  This website had all sorts of things I had never tried let alone seen.   Cherry butter???  I have had apple butter and pumpkin butter before, but never cherry butter.  And sunflower seed butter???  I LOVE sunflower seeds and toss them into many of my salads, but now I could spread it on my toast?  Heck yes.  I also appreciated that they would let me try these items for free, and that they wanted me to post about the good AND the bad.  So without further ado, here are the items they sent me:

Swanson Organic Cocoa Powder, Unsweetened
Many of us have heard Ina Garten say, “Make sure you use good cocoa powder.”  I always wondered to myself, what does that even mean?  How do I know what is good cocoa powder?  I was interested to try this organic one because I wanted to compare it to the generic grocery bought cocoa powder I had in my pantry.  I compared the smells of both and I was STUNNED by how different they were.  The Swanson Organic Cocoa Powder smells so much of sweet chocolate, yet the other one I had in my pantry smelled like bitter chalk with hints of cocoa.  I made chocolate cupcakes with the cocoa powder and I loved the flavor.  I will definitely be buying more in the future.

Eden Foods Cherry Butter, Organic
This was the product I was most excited to try.  I’m a HUGE fan of apple butter and pumpkin butter, so I was expecting the same of this Montmorency cherry butter.  I really like the smooth consistency of the spread, though it is definitely a bit tart.  There’s nothing in here but cherries, so I guess that’s to be expected.  I do appreciate that they didn’t add sugar to it.  I can do that myself if I want to.

Once Again Sunflower Seed Nut Butter, Organic
While the actual nut butter looks sort of unappetizing, the flavor is just incredible.  Dare I say I may actually like this more than peanut butter?  It’s really delicious stuff.  So creamy and it’s got a great nutty flavor.  I imagine sunflower seed butter will become an alternative for people as peanut butter prices rise because of the peanut shortage.

All in all I’m pretty excited to have discovered this website, so thanks to Caroline and also to Swanson Vitamins.  I live in a small town so it’s hard to get all the specialty products that I want, and it’s great to be able to get these things online at a good price.  Yippee!

If you are interested in getting some free Swanson Health Products goodies to review on your blog, check out the Swanson Health Blog for more details.  See you all tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cherry Butter, Sunflower Seed Butter, and Cocoa Powder: A Review

  1. Thanks for the link…will go and try now.

  2. Does Hershey’s qualify as good. That’s what we always use. Cherry butter sounds great to me.

    • Joanne says:

      Hershey’s is the one I was comparing it to….lol. I always used that one because it’s the only one my grocery store carries, but there is a huge difference between Hershey’s and this organic cocoa powder. I can’t go back!

  3. Caroline says:

    Glad you were able to review some of the company’s products as well. You picked some great items! I had a difficult time choosing what to review because they have so many products. I randomly selected macadamia nut oil, figuring I’d find some sort of recipe that uses the oil. Still trying to come up with a recipe for that, ha!

    • Joanne says:

      I know what you mean! I have some walnut oil that I’m still trying to figure out what to do with. It’s not quite flavorful enough for a vinaigrette but it has too low of a smoke point to cook with.

  4. Meg says:

    Ooh, I’m always up for trying new and interesting products! The sunflower seed nut butter sounds really different and cool. I’m also a huge sunflower seed fan.

  5. Ann says:

    I love it…as long as they’ll let you post the good and the bad – I say bring it on!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

