Monster Cookies


I also call these “everything cookies,” and while I don’t know of their exact origin, here is my theory: someone was craving chocolate chip cookies, peanut butter cookies, and oatmeal cookies all at the same time, and didn’t feel like making three batches.  The solution?  Putting them all together in the same batch.  Laziness WINS!!!  hehehe.  Really, you can do whatever you want in here.  In mine I like to do peanut butter, chocolate chips, oats, and toffee bits, but I’ve also seen m&ms, peanut butter chips, and cranberries in these.  The result is a chewy cookie with a little bit of crunch from the toffee, that is peanut buttery and chocolaty at the same time, with the hearty chew of an oatmeal cookie.  Brilliance!  Oh, and the other great thing about this cookie is you don’t need any fancy equipment, just some elbow grease and a bowl, and they only take 10 minutes to bake.  They’re not one of those cookies that you have to refrigerate for an hour before baking (those drive me crazy with impatience)!  haha.  Here’s how to make them:
Yield: 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 extra large egg
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup peanut butter (6 oz)
1/2 stick unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/4 cup heath toffee bits
1.5 cups quick cooking oats
2 tsp baking soda

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl, stir to combine the egg and both sugars with either a whisk or a sturdy spoon.  Add the salt, vanilla, peanut butter, and butter.  Stir well to combine.  Now add in the chocolate chips, toffee bits, oats, and baking soda.

Use a 1.5 tsp disher to portion out little cookie balls about 2 inches apart on a sheet pan:

Flatten gently with wet fingers or your palm.  Bake for 10 minutes (don’t overbake or they won’t be gooey and soft).  Let them sit on the cookie sheet for 3 minutes before transferring to a wire rack, so they have time to set.  These are cookies that taste good hot, so either enjoy them hot from the oven or let them cool on a wire rack.  Enjoy!!!

Click here for the printable recipe.

Adapted from Donna Haney.

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Monster Cookies

  1. Love your theory as to how these came to be! I am sure you are not far off! Your cookies look awesome!

  2. mjskit says:

    Hum – these look excellent like the cookies my husband has been trying to get me to make “right” for years! I’ve tried cookies 3 times and they are always thin and crispy and he likes the thick and chewy kind – like these. I might just have to give these a try. Do you know if there are any adjustments for high altitude? I live at exactly 1 mile high. Good looking cookies!!!

    • Joanne says:

      These are definitely thick and chewy! Usually with thinner cookies the issue is a high butter content, so maybe try using less butter with other recipes? Also if you chill the dough before baking it won’t spread as much. But definitely no need to tweak this recipe if you want a thick chewy gooey cookie! As far as the altitude…I have no idea. I’m sorry! I live right on the coast so I’m right about at sea level. The altitude must be so tricky to deal with!!!

  3. A cookie with an oatmeal base goes well with so many add ins and makes for a wonderful hearty cookie. These look so big and chewy- hard to resist. Yum!

  4. Seriously great looking. My wife would love these. She’s always throwing extra stuff in cookies.

  5. Caroline says:

    Toffee AND peanut butter? My perfect cookie. Well, I might remove the chocolate chips, just because I’m crazy and don’t like chocolate. 🙂 But otherwise, YUM!!

  6. Ann says:

    GREAT theory! These look so amazing if I made them I would have to give them away immediately, or I would eat them all….YUMMY!

  7. Ann says:

    I think my comment was lost in cyber space! These are really incredible! I love the combination of the stuff in them…all my favorites!

  8. I made a version of these awhile ago but added rice krispies- added a nice crunch!

  9. Farha Nor says:

    Was just looking for a cookie recipe which includes peanut butter, chocolate chip and oats, So happens I have some extra toffee bits too. Perfect!

  10. Chewy biccies are my fave!!! These look so yummy, just wish I had some here to try 🙂

  11. Oh I am so craving a good chewy cookie! One moment on the lips- forever on the hips but I am sure it is worth it. Take Care

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

