Caprese Pasta Salad

Summer is coming to an end, and we all know what that means…make as many tomato dishes as we can!  Okay, maybe it’s just me, but seriously, I have been loving the tomatoes this season and am sad that I will have to start using canned tomatoes soon.  Caprese is probably my favorite flavor combination ever, and I’m convinced that you can’t make anything with tomatoes, fresh mozzarella and basil taste bad.  It’s such a fresh, colorful and vibrant salad.  Here’s how to make it:

Ingredients:
1 lb corkscrew pasta
2 tbsp sherry vinegar
1 tsp dijon mustard
3 cloves garlic, smashed
4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
20 large basil leaves
1 pint grape tomatoes, halved
8 oz ball fresh mozzarella
salt and pepper

Directions:
Bring a big pot of water to a boil, then salt it generously.  Taste the water to make sure it tastes like seawater.  Cook your pasta to al dente, then drain well.

If you have one, use a blender to blend up the sherry vinegar, mustard, garlic, and olive oil until combined.  If your blender can’t break down the garlic finely enough, make sure to strain the chunks out so you don’t get big pieces of raw garlic in your pasta salad.  If you don’t have a blender, just mince the garlic up really well, then use the side of your knife to mash and scrape it down into a paste, and whisk the ingredients well to combine.  Season with salt and pepper.

Cut the mozzarella into bite sized pieces, and chiffonade the basil.  Toss with the pasta and add the dressing and tomatoes.  Make your final seasoning adjustments and serve.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Pasta/Starches and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Caprese Pasta Salad

  1. Ann says:

    This looks delicious! We love this sort of pasta dish….one of our favorites!

  2. You are so right about the tomatoes craze at the end of summer- I am the same way. Just used up a ton to make gazpacho… om nom nom! this looks delish!

  3. I love that you used corkscrew pasta. Seems like it’d just tie it together so well. Great recipe.

  4. Leah Taylor says:

    This looks so fresh and delicious!

  5. Nydia says:

    Thos kind of salad is so simple, and sooooooooo delicious…!!!

  6. Second crapese salad I read today. I must apologize for my slack in commenting, but after being away for one month I have to go through so many posts and make comments.

    Lovely presentation.

  7. Looks awesome. Caprese is like the best salad ever :D. Love the photo. I’m sure I’ll mourn summer in a couple of months, but I’m looking forward to rich warming dishes really 😀

  8. I’m jealous your basil is still alive- mine fried in the sun not long after summer started. I know we’ve discussed how much we enjoy caprese on my site- glad you made something with one of the best flavor pairings!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

