Seared U-10 Scallops with Bacon Jam and Basil

When I saw some gigantic U-10 scallops at Whole Foods last weekend, I knew they were coming home with me, and I knew exactly what I was going to do with them.  Here I sear them in a super hot pan so they get a nice salty crust but are sweet and tender in the middle, then serve it with a bacon onion tomato jam and basil chiffonade.  I’ve made bacon jam with other kinds of seafood and meat, but I must say, I think it works the best with scallops. There’s just something about the scallops with the crispy salty smoky bacon and the sweet basil.  You can’t go wrong with this beautiful dish!  Here’s how to make it (and check out how HUGE these scallops are):

Serves 2 (entree portion).  Easily doubles and triples.

Ingredients:
1/2 lb scallops, preferably U-10
6 oz bacon, preferably center cut
1 cup finely chopped red onion
1/2 cup chopped grape tomatoes
1 tbsp sherry vinegar (or balsamic)
1 tbsp sugar
salt and pepper
olive oil
a handful of basil leaves

Directions:
Fry up the bacon over medium heat until nice and crispy.  Move to a paper towel and blot the excess grease off.  Add the onion to the pan, and caramelize for 10 minutes over medium heat until softened:
Add the chopped tomatoes, vinegar, and sugar, and season lightly with salt and pepper.  Cook for 10 more minutes so the tomatoes can soften and the flavors can meld together.

Heat up a nonstick skillet over medium high heat.  Pat your scallops dry with a paper towel.  Look how HUGE my scallops were!

Season both sides generously with salt and pepper.  Add enough olive oil to coat the bottom of the pan, then sear the scallops for about 2 minutes on each side (you don’t want to overcook these beauties)!

Chop up the bacon and stir it into the onion tomato jam, and serve alongside the seared scallops.  Chiffonade or chop the basil leaves and sprinkle over the dish, and drizzle a little bit of olive oil on the plate.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Fish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Seared U-10 Scallops with Bacon Jam and Basil

  1. Those babies are HUGE!! I have never cooked scallops before, they kind of scare me. Hell’s Kitchen has taught me they are impossible to cook 🙂 My husband would love for me to though, so maybe I will have to try!

    • Joanne says:

      Honestly I don’t understand what on earth is wrong with those people on Hell’s Kitchen! Scallops are some of the easiest things I ever cooked. Seriously!!! If you get that pan SUPER hot (flick some water onto it, and the water should sizzle like crazy and evaporate instantly) and get a nice sear on it, they’ll be great and you can’t go wrong! Try try try!!!

  2. I am allergic to scallops, otherwise I’d totally make this- I may just make the jam! Sounds like it’d be good on a burger… mmmm

  3. Jeez, those are huge. I make scallops at home pretty often but have never seen any that were even close to this large at my Whole Foods. Loving the pairing w/ bacon jam. Gotta try that.

  4. Ann says:

    I, too am allergic to scallops (and everything else that lives in the sea). Before I had my allergies…I just LOVED scallops! I’ve made a tomato onion jam that is lovely on top of goat cheese with crackers, too! Awesome post and pics!

  5. This looks perfect! I must make this bacon jam soon, and pairing them with scallops sounds amazing. Very pretty picture, too!

  6. This looks awesome! Makes me want to drive to the markets to get scallops for cooking NOW 🙂

  7. Laurie McCollum says:

    I’ve never seen scallops that HUGE before! My sweetie and I LOVE scallops and who doesn’t love bacon? I will absolutely be making this! By-the-way, yours is my most favorite of all cooking blogs. The recipes are amazing and the site is just plain beautiful!

  8. This is so perfect…i must try this jam.

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

