Mascarpone Peanut Butter Pie With Cocoa Crust

My husband told me that I shouldn’t post this recipe for the good of my own readers.  He has obviously been overruled, as you can see, because while this peanut butter pie is utterly addicting and dangerous, it provides far too much bliss and enjoyment to not post.  I mean seriously, this dessert is just ridiculous.  I LOVE how the creamy and silky texture of the mascarpone peanut butter pie is contrasted with the tender peanut cocoa crust and the crunch of the chopped chocolate on top.  AHHHHHH it’s so good, and it’s dishes like this that make me sad that not everybody cooks!  There are people eating poptarts for dessert when they could be having THIS instead, which is not only spectacularly delicious, but also very easy to make.  Let me know show you how easy it is:

Ingredients:
5 oz unsalted peanuts (1 cup)
3 tbsp sugar+2 tbsp sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
4 tbsp melted butter
2 tbsp flour
3 oz (3/4 cup) powdered sugar
1 cup peanut butter (creamy or crunchy, up to you)
8 oz tub mascarpone cheese
1 cup heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup chopped bittersweet chocolate

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

In a food processor, pulse the peanuts until finely chopped, but do not pulse it into peanut butter.

Add the 3 tbsp sugar, cocoa powder, melted butter, and flour.  Pulse to combine, then scrape it out into a pie plate or cake pan (I just used a 9 inch cake round).  Press the mixture out evenly with your fingers, pushing the crust partway up the sides.

Bake the crust for 10 minutes, then cool completely on a wire rack.

With a hand mixer, beat the mascarpone cheese with the peanut butter and the powdered sugar until smooth and creamy.

In a separate bowl, whip the cream, 2 tbsp sugar, and vanilla extract to soft peaks.

Gently fold 1/3 of the cream into the peanut butter mascarpone to lighten.  Fold the rest of the cream in and spread the filling out into your crust.

Top with the chopped chocolate, and cover with plastic wrap.  Freeze for 3-4 hours.  Now, I like to eat this somewhere between frozen and chilled because I find that refrigerated pie makes for too loose of a filling, whereas frozen is a bit too hard (though better than the chilled one).  So take the pie out of the freezer 10 minutes or so before you want to eat it.  Enjoy!!!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Mascarpone Peanut Butter Pie With Cocoa Crust

  1. Looks spectacular….and so creamy…!!!

  2. That’s just dreamy! I love mascarpone in about anything! And that crust! Heaven.

  3. Anna says:

    Yummmmm. Did you make this for the Jennifer Perillo thing?

  4. spicegirlfla says:

    Oh my, you’re husband is right! I could just see myself scooping up bites of this until it was all gone!! I better save this for a dinner party and send the leftovers home with my guests!!

  5. Jaqie says:

    Must.Make.Now. lol I’ve been seeing a lot of peanut butter pies (for Mikey) and there hasnt really been one that I wanted to break my diet for but this…I MUST MAKE IT! and eat at least a slice lol

  6. Ann says:

    This is incredible! I come from a long line of peanut butter eaters – and I’m going to share this one with my sister! She’ll love it!

  7. Those photos are to die for, as is the pie. I think it’s probably one of the best things I’ve ever seen. Yum, the filling looks so light yet amazingly tasty too.

  8. daisy says:

    Wow! I love peanut butter and mascarpone, but I never would have put them together….until now. Thanks for sharing.

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

