The *Only* Buttermilk Pancakes

These are not just the best buttermilk pancakes ever.  These are the ONLY buttermilk pancakes, as far as I’m concerned.  I have made these time after time, and there will be no further tweaking, because well, to me, they are perfect.  Nice and fluffy, very tender, and great flavor.  When I made that Homemade Orange Honey Butter a few weeks back, it was lucky enough to get the opportunity to sit atop a stack of these pancakes, because the homemade orange honey butter is pretty amazing too.  Here’s the pancake recipe, just in time for your weekend brunch:
Serves 4
Ingredients:

10 oz all purpose flour, sifted (2 cups)
1/4 cup brown sugar
2.5 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs
2 cups buttermilk
homemade orange honey butter or maple syrup, to serve

Directions:
In a large bowl whisk to combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.

Beat the eggs with the buttermilk until well combined. Add the wet ingredients to the dry, and stir with a spatula.  As always with the muffin method, you want to leave that batter nice and lumpy.  If ain’t got no “lumpy lump” going on, you have overmixed.
Heat up a griddle over medium heat and lightly butter the surface.  Ladle your desired amount of pancake batter onto the griddle, and cook for a couple minutes until you see bubbles form at the top.  This is your indication to flip!  Cook for another couple minutes on the other side, then remove pancakes to a plate, and serve with the orange honey butter or maple syrup.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The *Only* Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Wonderful pancakes Joanne. With this recipe, how many did you make?

  2. Sarah says:

    I just love pancakes and these are making me hungry for some right now!!

  3. Ann says:

    Stunning! I love buttermilk pancakes – and I bet the orange honey butter set it over the top!

  4. Love pancakes! I will have to try these for sure! My son love pancakes, but everything I make doesn’t live up to the store bought microwave pancakes. He is 6 though – so his tastes aren’t the best!

  5. Wow, not many things look much better than a stack of thick pancakes. These look particularly good.

  6. I’m actually making pancakes for dinner tonight. (Yep, on a Saturday. I know how to live it up! Haha.)

  7. Picture perfect pancakes! I have been whipping up all sorts of pancakes lately on the weekends and I will have to try these.

  8. Zenda says:

    Can you put all the dry ingredients and store for future use?

    • Joanne says:

      Hi Zenda! While I haven’t done it, I don’t see why that wouldn’t work. All of those ingredients stay in the pantry anyway and I don’t think any of them would react to each other just sitting there. Let me know how it goes =)

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

