Cheddar Buttermilk Stuffed Potato Boats

You can think of this as cheddar buttermilk mashed potatoes in a potato skin.  In other words, potato heaven two ways, combined into one bite.  I was trying to think of something new to do with potatoes and I had never done a stuffed potato, so I baked them off, cut them in half, scooped out the flesh, mixed that with some cheddar and buttermilk and turned it into mashed potatoes, then put it back into the potato skin.  I must say, what I particularly enjoy about this dish is the smoothness of the mashed potatoes against the outer potato skin shell.  These disappeared VERY quickly, and I love how versatile they are, since you could put basically anything you want in here…bacon, chives, scallions, sour cream, etc.  Let’s get to the recipe:

Ingredients:
1 lb russet potatoes (very important to use a baking potato, not a waxy potato)
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup plain yogurt (or sour cream)
1.5 oz grated cheddar cheese (a good one.  I use Mammoth cheddar from Whole Foods)
salt and pepper
2 scallions, chopped

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Scrub the potatoes with a brush, then pierce them all over with a fork so steam can escape during cooking.  Bake on a sheet pan for 1 hour, until a butter knife can easily be inserted into the potato.

When the potatoes are cool enough to handle, cut each one in half.  Scoop out the flesh with a spoon (make sure not to scoop out too much, or the skin won’t be able to retain its shape), and place into a bowl.

Put the potato skins back in the oven to keep them warm.  Mash up the scooped potato with a big fork or a potato masher, and stir in the buttermilk, yogurt, and cheddar cheese.  Taste, and add desired amount of salt and pepper.  Scoop this mixture into the potato skins.

If desired, sprinkle a little bit more cheddar on top, and broil the tops for a minute or two.  Garnish with scallions, and serve.  Thanks for reading and enjoy your weekend!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Potatoes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cheddar Buttermilk Stuffed Potato Boats

  1. I just had breakfast and you make me be hungry…!!! What a wonderful potatoes…I love cheese on it. Thanks Joanne .

  2. Do you have a preference for a particular type of potato?

  3. Sarah says:

    I love twice baked potatoes, and with cheddar and buttermilk? Yumm!! 🙂

  4. Natalie says:

    Come to mama! This is my idea of heaven, complete carbicide!

  5. Oh boy, those look awesome. I could eat the whole pan of them!

  6. Caroline says:

    Uhhh drooling. That looks awesome and hearty. I want!

  7. Ann says:

    Oh, MY! These look incredible! I’m a potato lover….this would be a great thing to serve with a bunch of people over along with big, juicy steaks! GREAT recipe! …..and your photos are a feast for the eyes!

  8. My husband is always buying bags of potatoes and I find I need a bigger variety of recipes, so I am glad you posted this. Simply delicious!

  9. I’ve seen two of these within 5 minutes of each other and they both look bloody amazing. I think I’ll really have to try something like this. Of course I can;t go copying, but you’ve given me the inspiration 😀

  10. I remember the first time I made twice baked…I was about 18 years old…many moons ago. Always like the idea. Your are perfectly stunning.

  11. Hi! I wanted to let you know that I have awarded you the “Cute Little Chef” blog award! Go by my blog to pick it up!

    http://thebaremidriff.blogspot.com/2011/08/cute-little-chef-blog-awards.html

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

