My Wedding Cake, One Year Later

Instead of a wordless wednesday today, I present to you a little something that I took out of the freezer this past weekend…the top of my wedding cake!  Sunday was me and my husband’s first wedding anniversary!  Having been in the freezer for a year, I wasn’t expecting the cake to taste very good, but it was really delicious!  I think the buttercream really saved it.  I have to say, it was so strange eating that cake, knowing that we ate that very same cake a year ago in the ballroom of our wedding reception, and now we were eating it on our china in our house!  Oh how time flies.  See you tomorrow for a recipe!

This entry was posted in Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My Wedding Cake, One Year Later

  1. irene says:

    Beautiful ! I don’t think even having the recipe it would come out looking as beautiful as yours.

    • Joanne says:

      The bakery I got it from was really great. It’s amazing when you can really tell that it was made by a professional….the cake’s crumb was just so even and fluffy. Delicious!

  2. Congrats and Happy 1st Anniversary!!

  3. Ann says:

    Happy Anniversary! I do wedding cakes for family members….and I do NOT like fondant. I’m buttercream all the way, baby! Happy Anniversary!

    • Joanne says:

      That’s so great that you make wedding cakes! I think I would be too scared I would screw it up lol. Yeah, the fondant didn’t seem too appealing to me. And I thought the buttercream was plenty beautiful!

  4. Happy Anniversary! The cake still looks fantastic. I am happy that it kept well for you to enjoy.

  5. Congratulations for your first anniversary…!!!
    Here in Peru we used to keep the top of the wedding cake for a year, as well as a champagne bottle, in USA too?

    • Joanne says:

      OH MAN you live in Peru? My husband is DYING to go there. We were going to go a few months ago but ended up going to France instead because we had a free flight there. We didn’t keep any champagne, that’s interesting you did that! I bet the champagne would keep a lot better than the cake LOL.

  6. Tnyo says:

    Congrats on your anniversary! Beautiful cake!.. Never imagined cake would stay frozen that long..

  7. Happy anniversary! We had ours almost three years later at a family gathering with my parents and in-laws. 🙂

  8. You must have one hell of a freezer. It looks as if it was just made. Congratulations and many more happy years together.

  9. Andrea says:

    It held up beautifully. Congratulations!

  10. Meg says:

    Belated anniversary wishes to you — congratulations! Time does pass so quickly. The cake top looks beautiful!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

