Raspberry Cream Pistachio Crisp Towers

Yes, this tastes as good as it looks.  Wafer thin pistachio cookie crisps (which you will have a difficult time not devouring on their own), layered with whipped cream, fresh raspberries, and chopped pistachios.  Seriously, it’s dishes like this that make me feel justified in being a complete pistachio addict.  They are truly the best nut, and it’s probably for the best that I have to shell them before eating, otherwise I would eat a bit more than I should for my own good.  Definitely give this dessert a try, because it’s unbelievably easy, delicious, and quite pretty looking.  Here’s how:

Ingredients:
2.5 oz shelled unsalted pistachios+extra for garnish
1/3 cup sugar
1.25 oz flour (1/4 cup)
pinch of salt
2 extra large egg whites
6 tbsp unsalted butter, melted (brown it if you want extra flavor)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 pint raspberries
1 cup freshly whipped cream (recipe here)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. If you wish, line your sheet pan with parchment paper.  I used an uncoated sheet pan but I have a really thin spatula that’s good at scooping the cookies off the pan.

Rub off the loose skins from the pistachios by rubbing a handful in between your hands.  Place them in a food processor and pulse them with the sugar until the pistachios are in small pieces, but not ground into pistachio butter.

In a bowl whisk together the pistachio mixture, flour, and salt.  In another bowl, whisk the egg whites, butter, and vanilla until combined.  Add the wet to the dry and stir until it comes together (and do not overmix):

Drop rounded teaspoons of batter 4 inches apart onto your baking sheet.  To spread them, I like to bang the sheet pan against the counter several times, and they will evenly flatten themselves out:

I find this works much better than spreading them with a spoon.  Bake the pistachio crisps for 10-12 minutes, until golden brown.  As soon as they come out of the oven, quickly take them off the pan and move them to a wire rack to cool completely.
Build the towers by starting with a crisp, adding a spoonful of whipped cream, the raspberries, another crisp, whipped cream, raspberries, then some chopped pistachios on top.  Eat immediately, before the crisps gets soggy.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Raspberry Cream Pistachio Crisp Towers

  1. Ann says:

    Oh. My. Goodness! These are absolutely incredible! SO beautiful – I love whisper thin cookies like this. I’ve made them with pecans, but never thought of pistachios! You are a GENIUS! This is definitely spatula worthy….incredible! The whipped cream and the raspberries just shot this dish into the dessert stratosphere! Wowza!

  2. Oh heavens this looks amazing. I just happened upon your site from Ann’s and I’m so glad I did. Not only does this recipe look simple but it’s also a showstopper. What a stunning photo and with pistachio’s – I love them! So glad I stopped by. I’ll look forward to viewing your next post.

  3. Beautiful! Love the little pistachio crisps.

  4. Caroline says:

    This looks spectacular! The pistachio crisps are so inventive.

  5. Lyuda says:

    These look so yummy! I’d love to see more gluten-free recipes that I could make for my whole family since my sister has celiac disease I feel like I’m always excluding her when I wanna try your recipes! I just can’t help it you have such great ideas 🙂

  6. Leah Taylor says:

    These look amazing!!! I’m definitely going to try this one 🙂

  7. Beth says:

    That looks delicious! I love the idea of the crisps paired with raspberries and whipped cream. Lovely!

  8. Meg says:

    I’ve become a complete pistachio freak in the past few months, so I’m all over these! They look so pretty and delicate but must taste delicious. Love the reddish-pink/green color combination happening, too.

  9. Wow! My hubby and daughter would devour these! They look amazing 🙂

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

