How to Make Your Own Brown Sugar

I usually do a good job of keeping everything in my pantry stocked up, but there came a time when I ran out of brown sugar.  I thought, eek!  What now?  I needed that chewiness that the molasses content in it gives, and then it hit me….I have molasses.  Could I just add molasses to the recipe to yield the same results?  And a little Google search led to the discovery that brown sugar is just a combination of regular sugar with some molasses, and it’s very easy to make.  You literally just put both in a bowl and mix until the molasses is evenly distributed.  I know, who knew?  Here’s how to do it:

*This is dark brown sugar*  Halve the molasses for light brown.

Ingredients:
1 lb sugar (about 2 cups)
3 oz molasses (1/4 cup)

Directions:
Place molasses in the bottom of a large mixing bowl, and dump in the sugar.  Use a hand mixer to stir things around until the molasses is evenly distributed (you could also do this in a food processor).   First it will start out all clumpy like this:

Mix for a little longer and there will be even less clumps:
And keep mixing until the clumps have disappeared and the molasses has been evenly distributed:

Store in an airtight container.  The brown sugar is now ready for use!  Thanks for reading!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Technique and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to How to Make Your Own Brown Sugar

  1. Shafriza says:

    thank you for this very important information. love the pics hugsxx

  2. Petrel says:

    My family has done this for years!! I like it better AND it is good for the budget, since brown sugar is usually more expensive than white (another of the paradoxes of our modern production methods.)

  3. Really interesting way! I like it.
    Wonderful blog!
    Regards
    Begoña

  4. Ann says:

    Nothing beats homemade… I think I may have to make this for my christmas goodies….

  5. Do you know how many times I could have used this!! I never thought to make my own. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. rachelle says:

    awesome I had no idea you could do this.

  7. Pattie says:

    It looks beautiful! What valuable information. This will certainly come in handy at some point. Thank you!

  8. Incredible – who knew? I can’t wait to try this 🙂

  9. Jen Johnston says:

    I always knew this could be done! I once had an argument with my mom about this because she didn’t believe me. Thanks for posting this awesome tip!

  10. Wow, who knew!? thanks for posting!

  11. I’ve heard of this somewhere- but it’s good to know it’s tried and true!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

