Tomato Cucumber Barley Salad

Happy Friday!  I’m up a little later than usual because I was out seeing the Harry Potter midnight showing last night.  I’m so sad!  I love love LOVE Harry Potter…and it’s over 😦  But I think it was a fantastic movie to end the series with.  Alright I don’t want to spoil the movie for anyone, so onto the barley salad.  If you haven’t ever had barley, you’re missing out on a really delicious grain.  Barley is my favorite out of the main grains…I like it more than couscous, quinoa, rice, and so on.  It doesn’t hurt that it’s also really cheap!  Here’s how to make it:

Ingredients:
1 cup pearled barley
2 cups water (or vegetable stock)
pinch of salt
1/4 cup red onion, finely chopped
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp red wine vinegar
pinch of sugar
1/2 pint grape tomatoes
1/2 cup diced cucumber, peeled and seeded
1/4 cup chopped parsley
1/8 cup grated pecorino romano

Directions:
If you have one, the easiest way to cook the barley is in a rice cooker.  All you have to do is throw the barley, water or vegetable stock, and a pinch of salt in, and push the button.  If you don’t have a rice cooker, cook it in a saucepan by bringing it to a boil, then reducing to a simmer, and cooking for 30 minutes with a lid on.

Move the cooked barley to a large bowl, and add in all the remaining ingredients.  That’s it!  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Pasta/Starches, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tomato Cucumber Barley Salad

  1. Leah Taylor says:

    Yum Yum Yum… this looks delicious!

  2. Beautiful salad and refreshing….The picture too!

  3. This looks like something I will most DEFINITLEY have to try for myself!!!

  4. Natalie says:

    I really love the sound of this. I cook with barley in the winter, in soups & stews but I’ve never thought to use it in a salad. Great idea, thanks!! 😀

    • Joanne says:

      Surprisingly enough I’ve only ever really had barley in the salad version. It’s SO good. You must try it! If you have any barley “wintery” recipes please send me the link! I would love to try something like that.

  5. Susan says:

    I just love these simple ingredients that come together to make a perfect refreshing summer salad! Excellent post!

  6. I had no idea I could make barley in my rice cooker! That makes me love my rice cooker even more than I already do. Looks great- I’ll have to try this!

    • Joanne says:

      YES! I cook a lot of my grains in my rice cooker. I do quinoa in there, barley, rice of course, and even israeli couscous. How high quality of a rice cooker do you have? Mine is mid range and it does pretty well. When I stick with the 2:1 ratio it always comes out great! I love that all I have to do is throw things in and then push a button =)

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

