Turtle Ice Cream Tart with Cashew Cocoa Crust

Don’t make this at your next dinner party, or your friends might stalk you.  I’m not kidding.  This is ABSOLUTE HEAVEN.  Like, one of the great things about being alive is that I get to eat this.  That’s total food stardom.  It starts with a cocoa cashew crumbly crust, then homemade vanilla ice cream, topped with gooey caramel and a chocolate shell.  It is absolutely divine.  If you don’t want to make your own vanilla ice cream, you could buy some at the store to save yourself some time.  All I ask is you do the dessert justice and get the premium ice cream.  Alrighty, the recipe:

Ingredients:
1 cup cashews+extra for garnish
2 tbsp sugar
1/4 cup cocoa powder
3 tbsp melted butter
1 recipe homemade vanilla ice cream
3 oz bittersweet chocolate
1/2 cup caramel sauce (I have a recipe here)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a food processor, pulse the cashews until they look like bread crumbs:

Add the sugar and cocoa powder, and pulse a couple more times until well distributed.  Dump the contents out into a bowl and add the melted butter.  Mix until the crust is well combined and press it out into a 9 inch cake pan:

Bake for 10 minutes, then cool on a wire rack until cool enough to handle, and pop it into the freezer for 30 minutes.

Make the homemade vanilla ice cream as directed, but instead of freezing it in a glass container, pour the custard directly onto the crust and freeze, covering the ice cream with plastic wrap so a skin doesn’t form.  Freeze until firm, about 4 hours.

Melt the bittersweet chocolate in a double boiler, and spread over the top of the ice cream.  Freeze for 30 minutes until the chocolate has hardened.

Serve the ice cream tart in slices and drizzle with the caramel, and garnish with cashews.  Enjoy!!!!

Click here for the printable recipe.

Recipe inspired by Dream About Food Blog.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Turtle Ice Cream Tart with Cashew Cocoa Crust

  1. The expression “my mouth is melting” is correct in English? In Spanish we say: se me hace agua la boca. It looks so creamy, and the chocolate, ummmmm…

  2. Oh my word! That looks out of this world amazing!
    Thanks for the friend add on Food Buzz, I love meeting new bloggers who love food just as much as me! 😉

  3. YUM! That looks amazing! Great idea to freeze the ice cream in the crust. Very easy.

  4. Hello Joanne! I haven’t checked up on you in a while, but I see you are up to your usual delectable tricks. This recipe looks so good — and so easy! If I DON’T make it for a dinner party, I would end up eating the whole thing myself. Hope you are having a great summer!

  5. Victoria Yam says:

    OMG there are so many things from your blog I have to make when I get back home to the US (*cough* everything *cough*) next month (yay for a real kitchen again!). This is definitely at the top of my list YU-UMMM

  6. hemmm… I want to eat this.. 😉

  7. Medeja says:

    It looks so amazing, tempting, delicious! I totally love it. The crust is very interesting.

  8. I do believe I will make this and risk being stalked. Great recipe!! Yum!

  9. Juanita says:

    It looks divine! I love your crust recipe.

  10. Oh my gosh, that is spectacular. I just love everything about it. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till tomorrow night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your tart up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/07/sweets-for-saturday-25.html

  11. I love all the flavors at play here, especially the cashews. Just gorgeous.

  12. Holy freakin’ goodness this looks amazing!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

