Lipsmackin’ Good Spicy Sweet and Smoky BBQ Sauce

Is your mouth watering?  I mean look at that photo.  My mouth won’t stop watering even though my brain tells it to stop.  Let me tell you, this is the ultimate lipsmackin’ fingerlickin’ good BBQ sauce.  No, there will be no further tweaking or experimentation with this recipe because to me, it’s perfect.  It’s got heat, sweet, smokiness, zing, and lots of level of flavor.  Yeah yeah yeah there’s all those fancy BBQ sauces with themes like peach mustard going on, but this BBQ sauce is good old classic dark BBQ sauce goodness.  Use it with pulled pork, ribs, chicken, whatever you’re cooking up on these lovely fleeting summer days.  And, if you’ve never tried making your own BBQ sauce, you must give it a try, because it’s very simple to make.  I mean, look at those directions!  Definitely the shortest directions I’ve written in like 2 weeks at least!  Basically throw stuff in a pot and let it simmer.  Let’s get to it:

Ingredients:
2 tbsp butter
1/4 cup minced red onion
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup ketchup
2 tbsp molasses
2 tbsp worcestershire sauce
1/4 tsp liquid smoke
2 tsp chipotle chile pepper, ground
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (optional)
1-2 tbsp honey (taste for sweetness)
1 tbsp white wine vinegar
salt and pepper
1/2 cup water, if necessary

Directions:
In a medium saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat.  Add the onion and cook for 5 minutes until softened.  Add the garlic and cook for another minute.  Add in the ketchup, molasses, worcestershire, liquid smoke, chipotle chile pepper, cayenne (if using), honey, and vinegar.  Simmer for 15 minutes, then taste and make any necessary seasoning adjustments.  If the BBQ sauce gets too thick, dilute with water until you get the desired consistency.

Yield: About 1.5 cups of BBQ sauce.  Easily doubles and triples.

Click here for the printable recipe.

Also, I’d love to hear your comments below on what kinds of ingredients you like in your own BBQ sauce!   Everyone likes their own twists!  Thanks for reading =)

This entry was posted in Chicken, Pork, Red Meat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lipsmackin’ Good Spicy Sweet and Smoky BBQ Sauce

  1. Samantha says:

    I’m so excited you posted this recipe! People look far and wide for good BBQ sauce recipes and here’s one from our trusty Joanne! Want to know the best part? I have all of these ingredients right here in my kitchen! Pulled pork, here I come! =)

  2. Chrissy says:

    This looks amazing. I’ve been meaning to make my own BBQ sauce 😉

  3. Jaqie says:

    umm. YES! I am drooling all over my keyboard lol

  4. Andrea says:

    This looks great!

  5. Man, do I love me some BBQ. Looks awesome.

  6. rsmacaalay says:

    That indeed looks lip smacking good!

  7. Wow, that looks fantastic. I’ve never even thought about making my own BBQ sauce. Where would I find liquid smoke? Never seen it in supermarkets or anything before…

    • Joanne says:

      It’s so easy to do, you should definitely try making your own! Plus, you can adjust it to your preferences. Liquid smoke should be fairly easy to find…it will come in a very small bottle, usually near the bbq sauces? Try asking at the supermarket next time. You can definitely do without it if you can’t find it, the sauce will still be delicious!

      • Oh awesome, yes I will give it a go for sure. I’ll look in the supermarket hopefully it’ll turn up. If not I’m sure you’re right. Could make my own of course, although I’ve heard it’s a little time consuming.

  8. Maybe ideal during a diet?

  9. Pingback: Sweet and Zesty BBQ sauce |

  10. David says:

    Great picture! What I am currently playing with in my bbq sauces is the sweet component. I am trying different types of honey, agave nectar etc.

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

