Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce

My husband called me from the other room after dinner and said, “What are you doing?  Are you licking your plate?”
I said, “No, I’m not licking my plate.”
He said, “Why not?”
I said, “Because I’m busy licking the peanut sauce bowl.”
I think that conversation sums up how I feel about this dish.  There’s just something about chicken with peanut sauce.  Heck, there’s just something about peanut butter in general.  Though I never eat peanuts on their own, peanut butter has got to be one of the best things on earth, and it makes this dish one of the best things on earth too.  Recipe time!

Ingredients:
1.5 lbs chicken thighs, fat trimmed
1 tbsp green curry paste*
1 tbsp garlic, minced (3 cloves)
1 tbsp fish sauce
2 tbsp soy sauce
1/2 tsp cumin
1 tsp coriander
1/4 tsp cayenne
2 tbsp lime juice
2 tbsp honey
peanut sauce (recipe below)

*Thai green curry paste has galangal, lemongrass, and all sorts of other ingredients I can’t find fresh, so it’s a good thing to have in the fridge.

Directions:
In a large bowl, whisk to combine the green curry paste, garlic, fish sauce, soy sauce, cumin, coriander, cayenne, lime juice, and honey.  Place the chicken into the marinade, and let it sit in the fridge for 2 hours.

Preheat your grill to high, and take the chicken out of the marinade (don’t discard the marinade).  Skewer the chicken if you desire, and grill for about 3 minutes on each side, until cooked through.

Peanut Sauce Ingredients:
leftover marinade
1/2 cup peanut butter
juice of 1 lime
1 cup coconut milk
1 tbsp brown sugar

Directions:
Pour the marinade into a saucepan, and bring the liquid to a boil.  Boil for a minute or two to ensure that the bacteria is killed, and add 1/2 cup peanut butter, the juice of 1 lime, 1 cup coconut milk, and the sugar.  Simmer for 3 minutes, then check the seasoning.  Season with salt and pepper if necessary.  Serve with the chicken.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

Recipe adapted from All Recipes.

This entry was posted in Chicken and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce

  1. Caroline says:

    Ha! You’re too funny. I’m sure I would have been licking the peanut sauce bowl as well. This looks and sounds fantastic.

  2. Yums! Just looked over your blog and I love this. This recipe looks awesome. Bookmarked and will be back!

  3. This looks amazing! I love chicken satay, so does my husband. Printing this recipe now!

  4. That looks amazing! I love this recipe, I agree there is just something about Chicken and Peanut Butter! Can’t wait to give this a try!

  5. BestOodles says:

    I love chicken satay and mouth watering picture.

  6. Kocinera says:

    This sounds so delicious! I have a huge love of all things peanut butter, but I’ve actually never tried peanut sauce. This recipe definitely makes me want to give it a try very soon!

  7. Susan says:

    This is one of my all-time favorites and yet, I have never made it myself. Always been served it or ordered it out. Good to find a recipe that will change that!

  8. Jenn says:

    Did you trim your chicken from the bone??

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

