Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Without An Ice Cream Machine

As I promised last week, here is a post on how to make french vanilla ice cream at home, no ice cream machine required.  This is basically a spin on a semifreddo, which I have made so many times I could do it with my eyes closed.  What’s with all the semifreddo in my life?  Well, after I tasted some, I simply didn’t care for storebought ice cream anymore.  Most of them are these atrocious guar gum xanthan gum whatever gum filled fakeries (exception: Haagen Dazs, which is pretty expensive), and this way I can put whatever I want in my ice cream for CHEAP.  I’ve done this as pistachio, mango, peanut butter, chocolate, melon, and so on, but today I’m going to show you how to make some good old vanilla, so you can take that Summer Berry Cobbler Ramekin Pie I posted the other day to the next level.  Let’s get to it:

Ingredients:
2 extra large eggs
4 extra large egg yolks
1/2 cup sugar+2 tbsp sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 vanilla bean*
1 cup heavy cream
1 tsp vanilla extract

*Vanilla beans are a rip off at the grocery, so I get mine online for less than $1 per bean, and they are unbelievably fragrant Bourbon Madagascar Vanilla Beans.  I get 7 of them for $6 and free shipping, and as you can see by the reviews, they are excellent.  YAY online shopping!

Directions:
Start by setting up a double boiler (a heatproof bowl set over a pot with an inch of simmering water), and prepare an ice bath that the bowl can be set into later.  Place the eggs, egg yolks, 1/2 cup sugar, and salt into the bowl.  Split the vanilla bean down the middle and scrape out the seeds, and add those and the scraped vanilla bean to the bowl as well.  Cook for about 10 minutes, whisking frequently so the egg doesn’t scramble**, until the mixture reaches 160 degrees F on an instant read thermometer.   It should have thickened and be a bit more airy as well, like this:
Immediately remove the custard and place it into the ice bath to cool, and remove the vanilla bean.

**If you do happen to scramble some of the eggs, don’t worry.  Just strain the custard through a fine mesh sieve after it’s reached 160 and beat air back into it with a hand mixer.

In a medium bowl using a mixer, whip the heavy cream until a little frothy.  Add in the 2 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp vanilla extract, and whip to soft peaks.

Remove the egg custard from the ice bath, and add 1/3 of the whipped cream to it to lighten.  Fold in the rest of the cream and pour into a container:
Place plastic wrap directly on the surface of the custard so a skin doesn’t form:
Freeze immediately for 4-6 hours, depending on your freezer.  Enjoy your homemade ice cream!!!!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Technique and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream Without An Ice Cream Machine

  1. Joanne!!! This looks fantastic!! I can’t wait to try it… Thanks for thinking of us!! 🙂

  2. OH…ice cream without a machine, that is exactly what I need, it’s very expensive to have one here in my country, so I never make ice cream at home…now I can try. Thanks Joanne…!!!

  3. Meg says:

    How creative and yummy! I’m a vanilla freak, so this is something I could definitely get behind. I would never have tried to make ice cream on my own (with or without machine), but I think I could handle this!

  4. magicofspice says:

    Your ice cream looks wonderful!

  5. Great job! Sounds delicious! I have an ice cream maker I got YEARS ago, but nice to know you can make it without!

    • Joanne says:

      If I got one as a gift I would definitely use it, but for now, there’s not enough room in my kitchen/I’d buy a few other things before I bought an ice cream machine. But one day I’ll get one!

  6. My mom would make this and we called it “limber”. She used to freeze them in ice cube trays

  7. Andrea says:

    OMG I can’t wait to try this!! THanks, Joanne!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

