Fall-Off-The-Bone Oven BBQ Pork Spareribs

I would love to have a grill, but frankly, it’s not very practical where I live.  Besides the constant swarm of gnats and other strange bugs, it is unbearably hot during the summer (105 degrees F and full humidity is nothing out of the ordinary).  So when I make ribs, I roast them in the oven.  I first sear them off in a cast iron pan to get a nice brown crust and smoky flavor, and then roast them in the oven for 3 hours in homemade BBQ sauce, until the meat falls off the bone.  Here’s how:

Ingredients:
2 cups sliced yellow onion
1 cup ketchup
1 cup water
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar or honey cider vinegar
1/4 cup sugar
1/8 cup worcestershire sauce
1/8 cup molasses
1/2 tsp salt
black pepper
4 lbs pork spareribs
scallions for garnish

Directions:
Place the yellow onion, ketchup, water, vinegar, sugar, worcestershire, molasses, salt and pepper in a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Turn the heat down, and simmer for 45 minutes, until the onions are nice and soft.

While that simmers away, trim any excess fat off the ribs, then slice in between the bones to cut them into individual ribs.

Heat up a cast iron pan (a stainless steel pan will work too, but cast iron will lend a more smoky flavor) over medium high heat, and sear the ribs on all sides until nicely browned.

When the BBQ sauce is done simmering, spread about 1/3 of it on the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish, and place the ribs on top.  Don’t worry if the BBQ sauce is thin or the onions aren’t soft enough, it will be cooking in the oven for 3 hours.  Place another 1/3 of the sauce on top and brush the ribs so they are evenly coated:
Bake, covered in foil, at 350 degrees F for 3 hours, and halfway through cooking, baste the ribs with the last 1/3 of BBQ sauce.  By the end, the bones will be falling out:

I absolutely love to top my ribs with finely chopped scallions and suggest you do the same.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fall-Off-The-Bone Oven BBQ Pork Spareribs

  1. Charlie says:

    I could only wish for that kind of weather!!!!

    It has been raining continuously for a couple of weeks and the temps are in the 40’s F.

    Want to trade???

    These ribs sound so good!
    Especially the sauce.
    Will definitely give it a try!

  2. Meg says:

    The grill scares me, so I would definitely give a recipe like this a try! Sounds and looks delicious.

  3. I love a good grill…but I live in a city apatrment. I would definitely try this…

  4. Jenn says:

    Might just be the best ribs I’ve ever had! I added garlic, liquid smoke and crushed red pepper to the sauce. Fall off the bone finger lickin good!

    • Joanne says:

      Hey Jenn, WOW what a nice compliment! Thanks! The liquid smoke idea is absolutely brilliant. I need to find myself some of that. I just love that it can be done inside, with very little work. Happy eating!

  5. Sara says:

    I made these today! DELICIOUS!! =) I added garlic and liquid smoke too. Out of all the ribs my hubby and I made, there are 4 leftover!! Haha! Thanks for the recipe!! Yumm!!!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

