Blueberry Blue Corn Pancakes


I saw these blue corn pancakes on Amy of Veggie Obsession‘s food blog a couple months ago, and it’s a shame I haven’t made them until now.  These are the best pancakes I have ever had (though, I love the flavor of blue corn, so of course they are).  The blue corn makes the pancakes a little bit gritty and slightly crunchy inside, but still the tender and soft pancakes that everyone loves.  Given the mountain of blueberries I have in my fridge from blueberry picking yesterday, it was a no brainer to add some blueberries to them as well, but they taste amazing with or without them.  Let’s get to the recipe:

Ingredients:
4 tsp lemon juice
2 cups milk
1 cup blue cornmeal
5 oz all purpose flour (1 cup)
2.5 oz whole wheat flour (1/2 cup)
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 extra large eggs
3 tbsp melted butter
a handful of blueberries (optional)
butter or oil for the griddle

Directions:
Whisk together the lemon juice and milk and set it aside to curdle and thicken.

In a large bowl, whisk to combine the cornmeal, flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

In a separate bowl, whisk to combine the milk, eggs, and melted butter.  Whisk the wet ingredients into the dry, and remember that we are using the muffin method, and the most important thing to do is LEAVE THOSE LUMPS!

Heat a large griddle or cast iron skillet over medium heat.  Melt a 1/2 tsp of butter in the pan and ladle your blue corn batter onto the pan.  Add the blueberries if using by just placing them on top:

Cook for a couple minutes, until you see bubbles at the top.  That’s your indication to flip!  I made some without blueberries to show you clearly:
Cook for another minute, then remove from the pan.  Cook the rest of the pancakes, and enjoy with some maple syrup!

Recipe adapted from Amy’s Blue Corn Pancakes with Red Chile Honey Glazed Bacon.  Thanks for sharing this wonderful dish Amy!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Featured Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blueberry Blue Corn Pancakes

  1. Amy White says:

    OMG! I’m so glad you loved the blue corn pancakes. I had totally been thinking of adding blueberries. They don’t grow here, but I have a huge bag in my freezer from my sister who lives in Washington state. She is totally obsessed with berry picking, and last she went practically every other weekend. I was just thinking of that when you were talking about berry picking the other day.

  2. I have never seen blue cornmeal before. I will have to look the next time I go the store. Thanks!

  3. Oh wow do these look fantastic!

  4. Joanne, these pancakes look incredible and with fresh blueberries, oh my goodness. I bet they taste just as good as they look! Great photos and a beautiful blog you have here. Thanks for sharing!

  5. briarrose says:

    Perfect stack….this would make my day to find these waiting for me for breakfast. 😉

  6. Lia Togneri says:

    ummmmm, omg these look delicious.

  7. Catherine says:

    You have a wonderful site! And these pancakes look and sound scrumptious.
    Have a very wonderful day!

    Blessings, Catherine

  8. I keep seeing these blue corn pancakes and they always get rave reviews. I have to put this recipe on my Sunday morning breakfast list.

    Kristi

  9. Meg says:

    Yep, I concur — these look incredible! I’ve never tried blue corn but am in love with blueberries, so it’s probably safe to say these would be a hit with me!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

