Toffee Crunch Peanut Butter Balls

Is it acceptable to give a philanthropy award to food?  Because these make the world a better place.  Corny, I know, but so true.  My husband recently told me he was craving Reeses Peanut Butter Cups, but they have partially hydrogenated oil and other unwanted things in there, and I remembered seeing some peanut butter balls called “buckeyes” on someone else’s blog a long, long time ago.  The time had come to give them a try, and MAN they are darned delicious little peanut butter balls dipped in chocolate.  But they are even BETTER when rolled in milk chocolate toffee bits.  *drool* Here’s how to make them:

Ingredients:
1.5 cups natural peanut butter (no hydrogenated oil)
12 oz (3 cups) powdered sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup milk chocolate toffee bits (I used Heath’s)
OR 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, for dipping

Directions:
In a large bowl, mix together the peanut butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, and butter.  The dough will look very dry, like this:
Use a disher to portion out the dough and roll into 1 inch balls:
If coating the peanut butter balls in toffee, roll the balls in the toffee bits, then set them on a wax paper lined cookie sheet that can be popped into the fridge:

Refrigerate or freeze them for 30 minutes so they can harden up and hold their shape until serving.

If you are dipping them in chocolate, first roll them into balls, then freeze for 30 minutes.  Melt the chocolate chips in a double boiler, dip the balls into the chocolate, and place them on wax paper.  Pop into the fridge so the chocolate can harden.

Makes 4 dozen peanut butter balls.

Click here for the printable recipe.

Recipe adapted from Buckeyes at All Recipes.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Toffee Crunch Peanut Butter Balls

  1. Meg says:

    Oooh, I can tell I would totally be a fan. I love peanut butter and the toffee crunch would really add a little something extra! Very fun!

  2. I have some leftover crushed Heath from another recipe- what a good excuse to “get rid” of them- thanks! 🙂

  3. Colleen M. says:

    Being from Ohio, I can’t believe you’d never had Buckeyes before! They are delicious, but yours look even better 🙂

  4. two of my favorites! I make variations of pb balls and bites all the time, and I cannot imagine why I never thought to add toffee! I almost always have toffee pieces around…

    these look delicious!

  5. Carlette says:

    PEANUT butter is the bomb diggedy! i have a few recipes that i am yet to try and I am about to add this one to my list 🙂

  6. AvocadoPesto says:

    Hmm anything covered in heath bits is amazing. I am definitely going to make this this weekend. I might even dip the balls in white chocolate first and then cover them in heath bits (my bf would love that)!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

