Flaky Scallion Pancakes


I write to you this morning with one man down.  One of my spatulas snapped in half last night.  It was a sad moment.  Fourteen spatulas sounds so wrong, doesn’t it?  I really liked that spatula too.  But it’s okay, I will go out and find myself an even better one to join the family.  On a brighter note, I have an awesome recipe to share with you this morning.  My friend David posted his scallion pancake making adventures on his Facebook status, and I thankfully happened to see it.  When I read through the recipe, I was REALLY intrigued, as it explained the scientific differences that come from using boiling water, and different rolling and spiraling techniques to get a flaky texture without any butter (huh???)  I knew I had to try it.  And these things are DELICIOUS.  Here’s how to make them:


Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup boiling water
Up to 1/4 cup toasted sesame seed oil
1 cup thinly sliced scallion greens
vegetable oil for cooking

Directions:
Pulse to combine the flour and salt in the food processor, and with the machine running, drizzle in 3/4 cup of the boiling water.  Process until the dough comes together in a clump around the blade (and if it doesn’t, drizzle in more water one tbsp at a time).  Knead the dough into a smooth ball, and cover with a damp towel or plastic wrap.  Let it rest at room temperature for 30 minutes.

Divide the dough into four even pieces and roll each into a smooth ball. Roll each ball out into an 8 inch diameter disk, and brush it with sesame oil.  Roll it up into a jelly roll, then twist it into a tight spiral, like this:

Flatten with your palm, and re-roll into an 8 inch disk.  Paint the disk with sesame oil again, then sprinkle with 1/4 cup scallions, and roll up like a jelly roll again:
Twist into a spiral, flatten gently, and re-roll into a 7-inch disk. Repeat with the remaining pancakes.

Heat the vegetable oil in an 8 inch nonstick skillet over medium high, and when the oil is shimmering, cook the pancake for 2 minutes until the bottom is golden brown.  Flip with tongs, and cook the other side for another 2 minutes.  Drain on a paper towel, sprinkle with sea salt, cut into wedges, and enjoy!

Click here to the print the recipe.

Recipe adapted from Serious Eats Extra Flaky Scallion Pancakes.

This entry was posted in Appetizer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Flaky Scallion Pancakes

  1. norma says:

    May your spatula rest in “piece”. Great tutorial. Scallion pancakes are so good. You get 10 spatulas for this post….

  2. I have never heard of scallion pancakes but this looks too easy and delicious to pass up! I know what I’m making the next time I pick up scallions!

  3. Lyuda says:

    Very yummy! I made them for breakfast this morning and didn’t have sesame oil but used sunflower oil instead and they were delicious!

  4. These look delicious! I had my favorite spatula snap last week, it was a sad day!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

