Crispy Paprika Potatoes (With Almost No Oil)

What a yucky yet amazing past couple of days it has been in the world of Joanne.  The yucky part: I had to go to the ER yesterday because I bent down and my neck/shoulder/back spasmed/snapped and I couldn’t (and still can’t) move the upper part of my body at all.  If you’ve ever had a serious spasm you know how painful it is…my husband is scarred from how loud I was screaming and wailing when it happened.  But the worst part of it all is I can’t cook!!!  There are a few ingredients in particular that are calling out to me….”Cook me, coooooooook meeeeeeeeee!!!!!”  *sigh*

The amazing part: Well, I’m sort of teasing you because I can’t say exactly what it is yet because I agreed to a contract, but I have some exciting foodie news to share with you on Monday!

On to the recipe. I am always looking for ways to make things crispy with very little oil, and this recipe is a good one for crispy and delicious potatoes.  The keys to making them crispy is to dry the potatoes well, use a nonstick pan and to cook the potatoes for a decent amount of time.  Here’s how:

Ingredients:
1 lb russet potatoes
3/4 tsp salt (or to taste)
pepper
1 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp cayenne
1 tbsp olive oil

Directions:
Peel the potatoes, then dice them up into small cubes (keep in mind that the smaller your cubes are, the more surface area you get, which means more crispy edges)!  Grab a few paper towels and squeeze the cubes in them, trying to get the paper towel to absorb any moisture.  Drier potatoes=crispier potatoes.

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium high heat, and add the olive oil.  When the olive oil is shimmering, add the diced potatoes to the pan, and make sure the potatoes are in one even layer.  Potatoes stacked on top of other potatoes will not cook well or crisp up.  Season with the salt, pepper, paprika, and cayenne pepper.  Continue to cook on medium high for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, then turn the heat down to medium and cook for 10 more minutes (or until you think they are sufficiently crispy on the edges and tender on the inside).  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

Recipe serves two.  Easily doubles, but make sure all the potatoes can fit into your pan in a single layer.

This entry was posted in Potatoes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crispy Paprika Potatoes (With Almost No Oil)

  1. Carlette says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE potatoes, baked fried boiled mashed every-which-way.

  2. Sam says:

    I like to throw in some thin strips of red bell pepper; I find the sweetness offsets the paprika in a very pleasant way.

    I’ll also make a batch and use them in the mornings for a quick frittata — a little spinach thrown in with the potatoes and a tad of olive oil, then 4 eggs worth of whites, cooked on medium-low until edges are set, topped with 1/4 c. of parmesan, then baked for 10 mins at 325. Dayum.

  3. Carlette says:

    @ Sam I’ve always thought that Frittatas are too big of a meal to have for breakfast (concerned that its the same as having dinner?) – I will however give your recipe a try because I’m a sucker for a) new things and b) potatoes! 🙂

  4. Seedotkay says:

    Wow these look great! Cant wait to try them!
    I hope you’re feeling okay! At least your body allowed you to type this entry! =]

  5. ahh I hope you feel better! Those potatoes look the bomb dot com btw!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

