Blackberry Lassi

The random number generator picked #17, and the 17th commenter is Lia T.  Congratulations Lia!  Thanks to everyone who entered, and thanks to Popcorners for giving away the 10 bag novelty box prize.

I always knew that lassi was some sort of Indian yogurt drink, but ordering it at Indian restaurants, I always thought it was something complex where you had to have special Indian ingredients.  This is not the case at all.  The ingredients are actually rather ordinary, and you can adapt the recipe to any type of fruit you want.  Here’s how to make some lassi:

Ingredients:
8 oz plain yogurt (1 cup)
10 oz blackberries (I used frozen)
1 tbsp lemon juice
1/8 tsp cardamom
3 tbsp honey (or to taste)

Directions:
Blend up the yogurt, blackberries, lemon juice, cardamom, and honey until combined.   You can either strain the seeds out or leave them in.  I didn’t like them in mine, but my husband liked the texture.  Pour into glasses and serve immediately.

Click here for the printable recipe.

Adapted from Anjum Anand’s recipe.

This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blackberry Lassi

  1. Shafriza says:

    Hi,

    Thanks for the recipe, But I need to let you know that Lassi correctly is made out of curd. Yogurt when used tends to be more like a smoothie. I have been to India a couple of times and in Sri lanka, Indian food is eaten often. My mum makes it and its yummy and its a good drink for summer.

    • Joanne says:

      Shafriza, thank you for your comment! I figured since the recipe was from an Indian TV chef that it was “real Lassi” but I guess it isn’t quite so.

  2. Shafriza says:

    I think there is a difference in flavor and texture when you use cured. I love you recipe and wish Blackberries are affordable here. We have frozen blackberries and bag I think must be a kilo cost over RS.1000.

  3. Pingback: Fifteen Spatulas Rewind |

  4. Oh I love cardamom with berries!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

