Featured Friday: Pork Potstickers

I have yet to meet a person who doesn’t like potstickers.  They are like the ravioli of Asia and are little happy packages of powerful flavor.  You can basically put anything you want in them too.  This recipe uses ground pork, but you can also put shrimp in there, chicken, beef, or make them veggies only if you so desire.  I would eat any and all of those, gladly.  The upside to these potstickers is they are probably the least labor intensive potstickers I’ve seen.  Let’s get to the recipe:

Ingredients:
1 pound ground pork
3 tbsp hoisin sauce
2 tbsp finely chopped thai basil or cilantro
2 tbsp finely chopped scallions
1 tbsp finely chopped garlic
1 tbsp sriracha
2 tsp finely chopped ginger
2 tsp fish sauce
1 (12-ounce) package wonton wrappers
Canola or peanut oil

Dipping Sauce Ingredients:
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp sesame oil
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1 tsp honey
1 tbsp thinly sliced scallion
1 tsp sesame seeds

Directions:
In a large bowl, gently combine the pork, hoisin, basil/cilantro, scallions, garlic, sriracha, ginger, and fish sauce (make sure it’s mixed but never overhandle ground meat or it will get tough).

Spoon a teaspoon of filling into a wonton wrapper, then dip your finger in some water and run it along two of the four edges of the wrapper, so it will seal shut.  Try not to get any air trapped in the dumpling, or it will expand while it steams and the dumpling could burst.  The hardest part about filling the dumplings is not overstuffing them!  These are the two shapes I like to do:
And this one.  For this shape you just bring all four corners of the wonton square to the center and seal it up:
Steam the dumplings for 10 minutes, until the pork has cooked through.

Mix all the dipping sauce ingredients together, and enjoy your potstickers with the dipping sauce.  Thanks for stopping by and enjoy your weekend!

Click here for the printable recipe.

Recipe adapted from Urban Belly Pork Potstickers from Bobbi’s Fresh & Foodie blog.  Thanks for sharing Bobbi!

This entry was posted in Featured Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Featured Friday: Pork Potstickers

  1. Your pictures look much better than mine! Plus I love your little steamer. Glad you liked them…they are indeed delicious. 🙂 Thanks for the link back.

    • Joanne says:

      I bought the steamer back in college so I could cook in my room (shhhh it wasn’t allowed). It is still very handy! And you’re welcome =) I like the mix of food you put on your blog!

  2. They look so good. I just bought mine…very lazy, but Vanessa’s in China Town are so good and you can’t beat the price 50 for $7.00.

    I thought they were so hard to make, but you make it look so easy and the ingredienst sound so delicious.

    I mi=ust try. When I do will le toyu know. Happy Easter!

  3. Liz Brown says:

    My husband loves Fried Dumpling; I am sure that he will try to cook it one of these days since he does all the cooking. I miss seeing you at Baila!

  4. Kristen says:

    Pot stickers are one of my family’s favorites. Yours look delicious and are making me hungry for Asian food! I like your four corner folded look. I will have to remember that next time I make some.

  5. I’ve never made pot stickers. You make it look simple and soooo tasty.

  6. cakewhiz says:

    i have to get myself a steamer just so i can make these! they look so cute but since i like chicken, i would use chicken instead of pork…thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Joanne says:

      If you have a large saute pan with a lid on it then you can steam in the pan. Like stated in Bobbi’s original recipe, you can saute them in a little oil for 1-2 minutes to crisp up the bottoms, then add a little bit of water (1/3 cup should be good), put the lid on, and let it steam for 6 minutes. I haven’t tried it but that’s the original cooking method, so it should work just as well!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

