Watermelon Meyer Lemon Slushies


Okay, I expected these to be good but not THIS good.  Holy cow.  And this is coming from a girl who only drinks water and milk.  I’m just not a big fan of drinking my calories…I’d rather eat them. But now all I have to say is to hell with that, because I could drink 8 of these by myself.  It’s just so refreshing and slightly sweet from the watermelon, with bright flavors from the Meyer lemon.  Mmm.  The original recipe uses lime, but I love Meyer Lemons and thought their flavor and aroma would go well with the watermelon, and oh man was I right.  If you like fresh mint, it would go beautifully in here as well.  The awesome part about this recipe is you freeze the watermelon so they act as the ice cubes, so you aren’t diluting any of the watermelon flavor with additional ice.  Here’s how to make it:

Yield: 2 glasses of slushie

Ingredients:
2 cups watermelon, diced and frozen for at least 2 hours
2 tbsp simple syrup*
1/4 cup Meyer lemon juice
fresh mint for garnish (it gives a slight aroma as you drink the slushie)
lemon slices for garnish

*Simple syrup is 2 parts sugar to 1 part water.

Directions:
Place the watermelon, simple syrup, and Meyer lemon juice into a blender and pulse until blended and you get your desired consistency (I didn’t want chunks in mine, so I blended it pretty thoroughly).  Pour in a glass and serve.

Have a lovely weekend =)

This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watermelon Meyer Lemon Slushies

  1. I am keeping this for the summer months to come.

    • Joanne says:

      It has been in the 70s and 80s since January and it’s been so hard restraining myself from posting recipes like this. But it is starting to warm up a bit around the country =)

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

