Crispetty Crunchety Roasted Cauliflower

OH BABY.  You can just see how insanely crunchy these are in the photo.  The most amazing part is there is no oil involved, so these are healthy AND crunchy delicious.  After my older brother told me how terrible he thinks cauliflower is, I set out to come up with a good recipe.  Every vegetable can taste good, it just needs to be cooked a certain way, and I will admit, cauliflower may need a little extra attention. We all know that roasted vegetables taste good because they get all brown and caramelized, but what if you double the fun and make them super crispetty crunchety by coating them in rice chex cereal?  MAGIC!  I made these with my friend Jess and she went wild over them (Jess gets food cravings for “crunchy things,” and this definitely passes the crunchy test).  Here’s how to make the dish:

Ingredients:
1 head of cauliflower
4 cups rice chex cereal
1/2+1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4+1/4 tsp black pepper
3/4 tsp cayenne pepper
2 eggs

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Cut the cauliflower up into small florets:

Whisk together the eggs until the yolk and white have blended, and season with 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp black pepper.

Smash up the chex by either pulsing the cereal in a food processor or sticking them in a plastic bag and bashing them with a frying pan (FYI the second route is way more fun…it gave me an excuse to get my monster cast iron skillet out…BAM BAM BAM)!  Season with the cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp black pepper.

Dip the cauliflower florets into the eggs:
Then dip them straight into the chex:
Once dipped, lay the cauliflower florets out on a baking sheet:

Roast for 30-35 minutes until golden brown and crispy, and serve the cauliflower florets hot out of the oven.  In my experience, these don’t store very well in the refrigerator because they lose their crunch, so eat them while you can =)  Thanks for reading!

Click here for the printable recipe.

This entry was posted in Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Crispetty Crunchety Roasted Cauliflower

  1. yumtherapy says:

    Yum, this looks like a great way to eat cauliflower. I’m excited to try it!

  2. Tnyo says:

    I love cauliflower.. will definatly try this! But what can I substitute the rice chex cereal
    with, I know I won’t be able to find it in stores..

    • Joanne says:

      Hm….do you have any sort of puffed rice cereal available like rice krispies? Using bread crumbs wouldn’t quite be the same…it would probably still be good, just not as crispetty crunchety as the rice cereal.

      • tnyo says:

        Yea, I have tried bread crumbs before and they don’t get that crunchy.. I’ll try the rice krispies.. thanks!

  3. I love it. This has become one of my favorite veggies. Great post…

  4. Cool! I love roasting cauliflower but have never tried it this way! Love the idea. Looks great.

  5. jess says:

    yum! roasting cauliflower is definitely the way to go – but never thought of adding such a crispy topping, love it thanks!

  6. Jenn says:

    My 15 month old devoured these! Delish!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Made this and everyone loved it! I am gluten free decided to try and was delighted!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

