Roasted Brussel Sprouts (In the monster voice of Anne Burrell, “Brown Food Tastes Good)!”


Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  I wanted to do something Irish today, but I just returned from my trip to New York City and have not had time to make something (last night’s dinner was leftover Blue Corn Cornbread I had fortunately stuck in the freezer several weeks ago).  The least I could do was post something green, and what better than some lovely roasted brussel sprouts?  Poor little brussel sprouts.  They are easily one of the most hated vegetables, and unfairly so.  Look how browned and beautiful they are.  I will admit, brussel sprouts taste a little repulsive when they are raw, but when you add in a little brown, a little Maillard reaction?  You get hundreds of little flavor compounds that make them taste incredible (like, I can eat a whole sheet pan of these by myself kind of incredible…and I often do).  If you say you don’t like brussel sprouts and have never had them prepared this way, you owe it to these little cabbages to give it a try.  Here’s how to make some:

Ingredients:
1 lb brussel sprouts
2 tbsp olive oil
plenty of salt and pepper

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Cut the little nubs off the brussel sprouts and cut them in half:

Toss the brussel sprouts in the olive oil, and lots of salt and pepper, and spread them out on a sheet pan:

Roast for 40 minutes, until they have browned and caramelized.  See, aren’t they delicious???  Thanks for reading!  Have a lovely day, and make sure you don’t get pinched =)  See you tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Roasted Brussel Sprouts (In the monster voice of Anne Burrell, “Brown Food Tastes Good)!”

  1. Cookette says:

    this is my favorite way to prepare brussels sprouts too… and now they are one of my favorite vegetables! the 8 year old me would never have believed it! haha 🙂

  2. norma says:

    I don’t know why people hate these wonderfull little green beauties. I just love them, even raw in salads. I like what you did with ours….

  3. shannon says:

    I realized about a month ago that I’d never had a brussel sprout in my life, so I made a lemon-braised version & I’m now a fan. I will be sure to try your version next. Thanks!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

