Featured Friday: Strawberry Mascarpone Tart


Every Friday I will be featuring a recipe I try from another food blogger.  I have found that one of the most fulfilling parts about blogging is connecting with other foodies who love food just as much as I do.  Today’s recipe is from Elise Bauer’s blog Simply Recipes.  Some of you may be thinking, what on earth are you doing making a strawberry tart THIS time of year?  To all you poor people in 30 degree weather, I do apologize, but it is warm and sunny down in the Florida area (come visit!), and strawberries right now are not only local, fresh, and beatiful, but they are also dirt cheap.  I have been buying 2 pound boxes for $3.88 (score!)  So I have been making lots of strawberry things lately.  Here’s how to make it:

Ingredients:
1 recipe pie crust (pate sucree), fully baked
1 lb strawberries
1 tbsp orange zest, divided in half
3 tbsp sugar
1 tsp lemon juice
8 oz mascarpone cheese
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup confectioner’s sugar

Directions:
Half an hour before assembling your tart, slice up your strawberries, and place them in a bowl with half of the orange zest, and the sugar. Stir it up so it can macerate (soften).

Stir together the mascarpone, confectioner’s sugar, the rest of the orange zest, lemon juice, and vanilla until everything is incorporated consistently.  Oh my word.  This stuff is so good.  I had the hardest time saving it for the tart:

Spread the mascarpone out onto the room temperature tart shell (I know my tart edges are a little jagged…my tart shell was already being used so I had to use a brownie pan):

Layer on the macerated strawberries, and it’s ready to eat.  The tart should be consumed within a day or two because the strawberries go downhill pretty quickly.  Thanks for reading, and thanks to Elise Bauer for the recipe.  Have a great weekend!

Recipe very slightly modified from Elise Bauer’s Strawberry Mascarpone Tart.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Featured Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Featured Friday: Strawberry Mascarpone Tart

  1. That looks great, thanks for passing it along. And I agree it’s nice to live in the south and be able to eat strawberries in February and March.

  2. Forget love – I’d rather fall in chocolate! ~ Sandra J. Dykes

  3. That sounds AMAZING!!! i want to eat it all up RIGHT NOW! 😀

    xoxox
    Kathleen

  4. Hi Joanne! This recipe looks so delicious! I like your idea of making other bloggers’ recipes, great way to grow the community feeling of the blogworld. =) As always, your photos are beautiful too.

  5. Muppy says:

    I love the look of this, quite simplistic so the flavours speak for themselves. When strawberries are great, really, what more could you ask for? Yum.

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

