Lace Cookies with Lavender White Chocolate Drizzle


I have been searching night and day for lavender.  That orange creme brulee I made a few weeks ago?  Yeah, that was supposed to be a lavender infused creme brulee, but Whole Foods for some reason stopped carrying their fresh lavender right when I decided I wanted to buy some.  While in Williams Sonoma a week ago, I found dried lavender in the spice section.  Was it as desirable as fresh?  No.  But I was still jumping up and down in the store and excited to head home with it.  Many of you may not know how I run my blog, so let me give you the inside scoop.  I am constantly starting food drafts, and if I get a food idea (which I get in the randomest of places, including the shower.  Some sing in the shower, but I come up with food combinations while scrubbing down LMAO) I write down a little draft.  There are several lavender drafts right now…lavender shortbread, lavender pot de creme, lavender creme brulee, lavender white chocolate dipped biscotti and so on.  But something that was a definite must for my blog was some sort of white chocolate and lavender combination.  I knew they wanted to be friends.  So I combined them and let them get drizzled all over this thin crispy cookie.

Here’s how to make it:

Ingredients:
3/4 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1/3 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
pinch of sea salt

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F, and line 2 sheet pans with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, combine the sugar, melted butter, flour, vanilla, and salt.  It will look like this:

Use a disher or a spoon to scoop out little 1 teaspoon size balls of dough, place them on the cookie sheet, and flatten them a little bit with your fingers.  They will spread out a lot as they bake, so leave plenty of space between them.  I never did more than 6 per sheet pan.  Bake the cookies for 8 minutes until they are golden and bubbly.  Remove from the oven, and let them cool on the parchment paper for 15 minutes, so they can harden up.  Repeat with the rest of the cookie mixture.

Lavender White Chocolate Drizzle

Ingredients:
1 tsp dried lavender
6 oz white chocolate (make sure it’s really white chocolate.  You will notice some packages say “white morsels” or “white baking chips.”  That’s not chocolate.  Look at the label…it’s partially hydrogenated oil with other strange things)
1/4 cup heavy cream

Directions:
Chop up the lavender into very tiny pieces with a sharp knife, until it almost turns into a lavender powder.  We want the flavor of it but not a big chunk of dried lavender flower in our mouths, so we need to get it broken down very small.  While you’ve got your knife and board out, chop up the white chocolate into small pieces.

In a double boiler (just a heatproof bowl set on top of a saucepan with 1 inch of simmering water), heat up the cream until it’s at scalding temperature (right before a boil), then add the white chocolate pieces to it.  Stir until the white chocolate melts and the mixture is smooth, and stir in the lavender.  The lavender will infuse its flavor into the chocolate more and more as time goes on.

Lay your lace cookies out side by side, and with a fork, flick your wrist and drizzle the chocolate over the tops of the cookies.  Let the chocolate harden, and enjoy!

My dearest readers, I unfortunately will not have internet access to post recipes for tomorrow and Friday (I will resume as normal on Monday).  I know, but the good news is my mom and I have been cooking up some of her amazing recipes the past few days, and I will be featuring them very soon!  I also have a request from my friend Victoria to make some sort of french toast recipe, which I am SOOOOO excited about!  That’s in the works.  If you ever have any food requests like my friend Victoria, please, let me know!  And thanks to each and every one of you who reads my blog.  Have a wonderful rest of your week and weekend!

Lace cookie portion of this recipe adapted from Giada’s Chocolate and Coconut Lace Cookies.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lace Cookies with Lavender White Chocolate Drizzle

  1. Victoria says:

    These look fantastic! I am looking forward to the french toast 😀 My sister is really into trying new recipes and she’ll be excited to try out this recipe because she LOVES lavender. Can’t wait to make this drizzle! Yuuummm.

  2. Carlette says:

    I have *never* tasted lace cookies in my life! Will try them and see what its all about – they look really good!

  3. mmm so yummy! You might try looking for a “pick your own” lavender farm. I know they exist! I passed one driving with a friend to the Orient Point Ferry on Long Island. I bet you could find bushel loads!

  4. UrMomCooks says:

    These look divine! What a unique and wonderful treat! (looking forward to seeing what you cooked up with your mom!)

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

