Prosciutto, Goat Cheese, and Walnut Arugula Salad


Poor little salads have such a bad reputation.  They are known as diet food, and many people don’t like eating salad for that reason.  I will tell you, I felt the same way about salad until I learned how to actually put good stuff in there.  Salad is really a test of knowing how to pair flavors together, because that’s when you truly get something divine.  This salad is my signature salad, and my favorite salad in the entire world. The honey lime dressing (it’s simple, but adding anything to it would make it worse) gives both sweetness and acidity.  The walnut adds crunch.  The arugula has a nice pepperiness to it.  The prosciutto is nice and salty, and the goat cheese is creamy and slightly sweet.  Every single ingredient in here has a purpose, and together, they create a balanced and extraordinary salad.  Here’s how to assemble it:

Ingredients:
Goat cheese (I highly recommend Chavrie.  It’s very creamy and slightly sweet)
Baby arugula leaves (a 5 oz package would be enough for 4 people)
1/2 lb very thinly sliced prosciutto (ask your deli to slice it as thinly as possible without tearing)
1/2 cup walnuts, toasted
thinly sliced red onion
1-2 fresh limes
honey (I used orange blossom honey)

Directions:
Squeeze the juice out of the lime, and add in an equal amount of honey.  Whisk to combine, and taste it.  If it’s too sweet, add more lime, if it’s too acidic, add more honey.  I personally like to directly season the lettuce with salt and pepper rather than the dressing, but do whichever you desire.

Roll up the prosciutto nice and pretty, and roll the goat cheese into balls.  Toss all of your ingredients together, and serve immediately.  If you can’t serve it immediately and want to prep it in advance, leave the dressing on the bottom and put all the ingredients on top, and toss when you are ready to serve.

Oh, and if your lettuce leaves ever look sad and droopy, wash them in a bowl of ice water.  It will help them perk up a little bit.

If you’re looking for a new tasty salad, give this a try.  I hope you like it!  Thanks for reading!  Also, what’s your favorite salad ever?  Post below =)  Have a great day!

This entry was posted in Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Prosciutto, Goat Cheese, and Walnut Arugula Salad

  1. Great minds think alike!! This is by far my favorite salad ever! I have it, no joke, everyday, haha. I also have a slight obsession with goat cheese http://bit.ly/fLUdvc

  2. I am so hungry now. I was vegetarian for a long time and had never even had prosciutto until a couple of years ago and it has changed my life :). I’ve never put it in my salad before though! What a wonderful idea!

  3. Carlette says:

    oo that looks so healthy and fresh!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

