Fortune Cookies…And a Thank You


Happy Chinese New Year! Before I get into the fortune cookies, I have to say a big thank you both to Elise Bauer and to my readers.  For those of you who somehow don’t know Elise Bauer and her blog Simply Recipes, she is basically the food blogging queen, and has been featured in Time Magazine, Forbes, the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, Redbook Magazine, etc.  On Monday she randomly came across my blog and tweeted that she wants to make everything on my website.  Since then I have been on cloud 9000 (no, not just cloud 9), and I am beyond flattered that someone like Elise would say such a thing about my blog.  As some of you may know, I decided last minute not to take a career in finance, and to try to do SOMETHING with what I love, food and cooking!  I can’t tell you enough what happiness I feel when you read my posts, make my recipes, post comments, or even just take a look at my website.  Doing this food blog and getting people cooking has been one of the most rewarding and happiest things I have ever done.  Thank you all so much for reading, from the bottom of my heart (and belly)!

So, back to the fortune cookies!  I recently made these fortune cookies for a group of people and put personal notes in them.  Is it cute?  Yes, very.  Is it fun?  Yes, it’s a novelty.  Is it tedious? Yes, definitely.  These are kind of like macarons.  They are a once in a while treat.  But Chinese New Year is only once a year, so I think it’s worth it.  The trick with these, is they set very quickly, so you need to get them folded within about 5-7 seconds.  Here’s how to make them:

Ingredients:
3 egg whites (100 grams)
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp almond extract (if you have it)
1 cup all purpose flour (5 oz)
3 tbsp water

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.  Line a sheet pan with parchment paper, and have your fortune strips ready to go.

In a stand mixer (or large bowl with a hand mixer), whip the egg whites and sugar on high speed for 2 minutes, until it’s frothy.  Decrease the speed to low, and one at a time, add the melted butter, vanilla, almond extract, water, and flour.  Make sure each ingredient is absorbed before adding the next.

With a tablespoon, spoon the batter onto the parchment paper and spread it out into an even 3 inch circle.  I recommend not doing any more than 2-3 at a time, since they set very quickly and you will not be able to fold more than that.

Bake your fortune cookies for 7-8 minutes, until the edges brown slightly.  If you let them brown too much, they will snap when you shape them.  Conversely, if they don’t brown a little bit, they will also break (but tear, rather than snapping).

When your fortune cookies are done baking, remove them from the oven and quickly scoop the circle off, and fold your fortune cookie in half, into a semicircle.  This is when you slip your note into the cookie (quickly) because if you slip it in right at the beginning, the cookie will be too hot and your paper will stick to the cookie.  Place your semicircle onto the edge of a cup, and quickly fold the ends down, like this:

Hold the cookie down to let it set, or you can stick it in a muffin tin to let it cool and hold its shape:

Since the cookies will be very hot when they come out of the oven, you can use a thin towel to handle them, or you could use gloves.

Now go make some fortune cookies for your friends! Thanks for reading!  Please post comments or questions below.

I have tried several fortune cookie recipes, and this recipe that I modified slightly is the best.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fortune Cookies…And a Thank You

  1. Jacob says:

    Hi!
    Looks awesome! Cant wait to try it…
    I just think there might be a mistake in the ingredients. 1/4 cup of vanilla and almond extract seems way too much!!
    Thanks

    • Oh my goodness Jacob! Thanks so much for pointing that out! That’s what happens when I write and proofread at 7 in the morning…LOL. Fortune cookies are fun little gifts (and they are tasty too)!

  2. UrMomCooks says:

    I agree! I think your recipes are scrumptious! Thanx for a great post on fortune cookies. I would love to make these!

  3. Michael says:

    When Elsie sent out the word I looked you up. She is right, you are good. Elise is the best, so us followers trust her. I really like your creaming post. Sharing techniques is so important.

    Looks like the Chinese New Year has started out well and the Year of the Rabbit will be kind to you.

    BTW Nothing like Rabbit in a mustard sauce.

    Gōng xǐ fā cái, hóng bāo ná lái

    • Thanks, Michael! I am going to try to do some more technique posts. Still need to do a muffin method post, the straight dough method, etc. They are in the works!

      LMAO I have actually never tried rabbit!!! What’s it like? It’s a gamey meat right?

      • Michael says:

        Unfortunately for rabbit it is delicious and not gamey. They are farm raised for meat. I imagine wild rabbits could be gamey. To me it is better than chicken

        I first had Rabbit in Mustard Sauce in a small cafe in Paris (1985). I walked out of there saying I never knew food could taste so good.

        Check out Elise
        http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/rabbit_in_mustard_sauce/

        • I would love to try rabbit (especially with your statement about liking it more than chicken). I will be in Manhattan in March so maybe I’ll try to find it there. If not, I hope to be in Paris in April or May. We’ll see! I would say the strangest thing I have eaten is iguana…lol. It was kind of like chicken but more boney.

  4. Seedotkay says:

    First of all, congrats! I’ve been on Elise Bauer’s blog! And its pretty neat!

    And this recipe is too clever! Very nice!

  5. Poppy says:

    Hi, how many does this recipe make? Thanks. Poppy

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

