Blackcurrant and Cream Oatmeal


I’m one of those weird people who doesn’t like cereal. It’s just when you can make things like Poached Eggs or bacon, or this Blackcurrant and Cream Oatmeal, how could I possibly be satisfied with a bowl of bird food?!?!?  When I was at Whole Foods a week ago, I was going through the bulk scoop section and went home with some black currants, pondering what I would do with them.  I thought putting them in some oatmeal would be fun, because while you cook them on the stovetop, the black currants plump up beautifully.  THIS is a breakfast I will eat any day of the week, and here’s how to make it:

Ingredients:
1 cup milk (or water)
1/2 cup rolled oats (not quick oats)
pinch of salt
zest of half a lemon (optional, if you have it.  It brightens up the oatmeal a little bit, which I like)
1/4 cup dried black currants
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp cream
1/2 tbsp butter

Directions:
In a saucepan set over medium heat, heat up the milk until it’s simmering.  Stir in the oats, salt, lemon zest, currants, and brown sugar, and stir for 5 minutes with a wooden spoon.  Remove the oatmeal from the heat and stir in the cream and butter.  Seriously, that’s almost as easy as pouring yourself a bowl of bird food.  Enjoy!

This amount of oatmeal will serve 1 extremely hungry person, or 2 regular people.  I can’t even eat half of this.  This recipe can be very easily doubled.

Thanks for reading!  I would love to hear any comments, questions, or suggestions below.  Have a great day!

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blackcurrant and Cream Oatmeal

  1. Betsy says:

    I love good oatmeal recipes. Oatmeal is like a wonder food for nursing mothers and I get bored eating my pear/apple/peach/whatever fruit the baby is eating oatmeal in the morning. I’ll definitely give this a try with the steel cut oats I have!

    • Oatmeal is really good for you! Mine is probably a little less good for you (you could just take out the cream/butter)…LOL but I can’t eat oatmeal unless it’s a little bit jazzed up!

  2. Breakfast of champions for sure! Beautiful black currants. Love the hint of lemon zest.

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

