Blackcurrant Black Tea Macarons


This was my first adventure in macaron making, and while I won’t say it’s my last, these are certainly a “once in a while” treat.  Macarons are very trendy right now, and I had been seeing them everywhere, so I decided to use my leftover egg whites from the Meyer Lemon Curd to make some.  They were pretty tedious to make (even for somebody who likes to spend all her time in the kitchen), and every step of the way things had to be weighed and done very precisely.  But man are they delicious.  No wonder these things are popping up everywhere.  My friend Jaqie recently made some with Earl Grey, so I decided to go with the tea theme as well and grind up some blackcurrant black tea into the almonds and powdered sugar.  Yum!  Here’s how it all happened:

I used this recipe I found online called Almost Foolproof Macarons.  They are made a bit untraditionally, via making an italian meringue, but they turned out pretty well.  A lot of my macarons cracked (and my research revealed that this apparently means the oven is too hot), and while they still tasted good, I think next time I will try making them the traditional way.

I started out by grinding up some slivered almonds, powdered sugar, and three tea bags of blackcurant black tea in the food processor until it turned into a really fine meal like this:

I placed them into a bowl, and mixed in some of the egg whites:

Then I made a sugar syrup by bringing some sugar and water to 230 degrees F, and slowly poured it into some beaten egg whites to make the italian meringue:

I folded the egg white/ground almond mixture delicately into the meringue (and it looked like marshmallow fluff!):

I filled a pastry bag with the macaron mixture, piped it onto parchment paper in 2 inch rounds, and baked at 320 degrees F for 20 minutes, and ended up with some delicate and heavenly macarons!

All in all it was a good experience, though I would say if you are going to try these out, be prepared for it to be a challenge, but you will be rewarded with some GOOD eats!

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blackcurrant Black Tea Macarons

  1. savorysimple says:

    When we made these at culinary school they came out perfect. When I tried making them at home they almost always fell. We used French meringues. I think macarons just work better in a convection oven. Next time I try making them I’m turning my oven temperature way down, my instructor said this helps.

  2. Melissa says:

    Looks Yummy! Love reading what your up to!

  3. I never tried, I think macarons are as meringues a perfect combination of temperature and exact procedures (and I am too lazy sometimes to be so accurate!), but yours look great! And the blackcurrant tea theme is very original!!! Thumbs up!

  4. stephchows says:

    It’s your first try and they look perfect!!! I made them once… they looked horrible but tasted great 🙂 Congrats on getting them to be both tasty and beautiful!

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m glad I found yours. Your macarons look absolutely flawless.

  6. Babygirl says:

    Great recipe.. they look delish!

  7. Beautiful. I must make macarons soon, after seeing so many really unique and delicious varieties online!

  8. Oh great I must make macarons soon

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

