Pumpkin Clouds


Okay, so these are really pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, but when I bit into one, all I could think was “PUMPKIN CLOUDS OF JOYYYYY!!!!” because they are very airy cake-like tender pumpkin cookies, not at all crumbly or chewy like most chocolate chip cookies are.  I had some leftover pumpkin sitting in my fridge, and although I normally like to post original recipes on here, I had to try this really well rated George Duran recipe I saw, and oh yes, it must be shared.  I made a few minor changes, and here’s how I did mine:

Yield: About 50 cookies
Ingredients:
1 cup softened unsalted butter***
1 cup white sugar
1 cup dark brown sugar
2 eggs
1 cup canned pumpkin
3 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
.5 tsp kosher salt
1.5 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp fresh grated ginger (if doing ground ginger, use .5 tsp)
.25 tsp ground nutmeg
.25 tsp ground cloves
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

***(I’m one of those people who never plans ahead and takes out the stick of butter 4 hours before, so I usually cut it up into small pieces and then it softens up pretty quickly)

How to make the pumpkin clouds of joy:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Either grease the cookie sheets with butter or line them with parchment paper.  Using a handheld or a stand mixer, beat the butter until it’s nice and smooth.  Beat in the white sugar, then the brown, until they are creamed together and fluffy.  Beat in 1 egg at a time, then add the pumpkin puree.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, fresh ginger, nutmeg, and cloves to combine.  Add the spiced flour to the batter gradually while mixing on low, and when the batter starts to look like this….STOPPPPPPPP!!!!    =D

As you can see, *almost* all the flour has disappeared into the batter.  If you want soft and tender cookies, always turn your mixer off at this point and finish mixing by hand *just* until the flour disappears.  The more you mix, the tougher the cookie will get (because of gluten proteins in the flour), so mix as little as possible.  A few turns with the spatula made all the flour disappear:

Mmmm looks good.  Good thing this cookie dough had raw egg in it or it might have all been gone before it got baked.  Now it’s time to get a cookie scoop, dish out little heaps of cookie dough onto the cookie sheets and bake for 15 minutes until the batter just cooks through.

They are very delicate, so remove carefully from the baking sheet and cool on a wire rack (and make sure to eat a couple while they’re warm.  That’s when they taste the best).  And don’t forget a nice glass of milk too =)

This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pumpkin Clouds

  1. Mariana says:

    I will be DEFINITELY trying this one when I get a chance..pumpkin is a great ingredient to use in the fall/winter!

    Also, maybe in addition to giving directions of how to use mixers and other tools like them, you could give tips on how to do it without those tools…for those ppl who don’t have them, like me!!

    Miss you friend!

    • Hey Mariana, You can always make recipes like this by hand, it just takes a little longer and takes some elbow grease, and I know you have arms of steel =) Just mix everything in a bowl in the order listed in the directions with a wooden spoon until the flour just disappears. I just use the mixer because I have it and it makes life easier. I’m excited for you to make these!

  2. Clare says:

    Ooh I love pumpkin! And cookies. These look delish.

  3. Ellen says:

    Yummy! I made these for my office and they were almost completely gone by the end of the meeting, even beating out the 2 other batches of cookies people brought in. Unfortunately, raw egg doesn’t keep me from eating the dough… 🙂

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

