Peanut Butter Caramel Semifreddo


Okay, if you haven’t had semifreddo before, you are missing out.  Really, I’m not just saying that.  The first time I had semifreddo was at the Gramercy Tavern in New York City, and I HAD to figure out how to make it.  I make a semifreddo probably about every week, and it usually only lasts a day.  It’s kind of a frozen custard ice cream-like dessert, and it is SO versatile (I have made mango semifreddo, nutella laced semifreddo, orange semifreddo, this one, kiwi, and so on).  I also like making this because it’s cheaper than buying ice cream (eggs are so much cheaper than cream), AND it’s better.

Ingredients:
8 egg yolks (save the egg whites for another use)
1/2 cup granulated sugar+1/4 cup granulated sugar
1.5 tsp vanilla extract
pinch of salt
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/3 cup caramel sauce (optional, I used the no nonsense caramel sauce I made from a few days ago)

Let the fun begin!
Place the egg yolks, 1/2 cup granulated sugar, vanilla extract, and salt in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan filled with an inch of simmering water (a double boiler).  Whisk the ingredients until smooth, and whisk every minute or so until the mixture comes to 160 degrees F, in order to kill the bacteria in the eggs (about 10 minutes).


Once it reaches 160, place the mixture into an ice bath, and cool off the mixture completely.While the custard cools, whip the cream with an electric mixer until it thickens a bit, then add the 1/4 cup of sugar, and whip it to stiff peaks.

Lighten up the egg yolk mixture by folding 1/3 of the whipped cream into it.

Fold the rest of the whipped cream gently into the custard until it just mixes in.  Pour the semifreddo custard into a glass container.  Spoon the peanut butter and caramel onto the mixture and swirl it around with the spatula.  Cover the top exposed edge with plastic wrap to protect the surface, and freeze for 6 hours until it hardens up.  Remove from the freezer and dig in with a spoon or cut a slice out.

As always, I would love to hear your comments and feedback.  Let me know what you think about semifreddo…pretty delicious, huh?

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peanut Butter Caramel Semifreddo

  1. Jaqie says:

    I made it! But instead of Peanut Butter I decided to swirl in my left over homemade cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving. The little frozen cranberry chunks went so well with the creamy goodness of the semifreddo 😀 Its so easy to make! and why even buy ice cream when homemade things are just so much better ❤

  2. Christina says:

    I have a dairy allergy, have you experimented at all with “Silk” products? I think I am going to try to make this recipe this weekend using silk creamer…I’ll let you know how it goes…

    Christina

    • Yes, I remember hearing about your dairy allergy 😦 I have never experimented with Silk products since it’s never come up, but I am curious to see how it would work. Basically the cream is there to lighten up the custard. Can you whip the silk cream into stiff peaks? If you can, it will probably work pretty well.

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

